Where Pinterest Didn’t Cut It

This has been a whole week devoted to learning about Pinterest.  I’ve been finding many ways to use it.  With a Friday post devoted to Ontario Educators, I thought that would be a natural use for it.  So, I set about to try and create a board for the Ontario Edubloggers.

Quite frankly, I wasn’t looking forward to the amount of work that it would take.  I haven’t been able to find a way of automating the process and I’m all about automating where possible.  I decided to take baby steps and went to the category of Trustees and Higher Education.  I started and then stopped.

What I did is available here.  https://pinterest.com/dougpete/ontario-educators/

But I stopped.  It wasn’t giving the results that I thought would be helpful.  First of all, one of the links – to Marc Lijour’s blog was broken.  With other tools, it typically isn’t a problem as you can always just enter the URL that you know works when the site is working.  There can be a myriad of reasons why a site isn’t functional.  But, Pinterest doesn’t allow for this.

So, I skipped that and moved on to Robert Hunking’s blog.  He offers a fascinating insight to his own learning as a trustee and that is always nice to read.  But, Robert doesn’t include images in his posts.  So, I’m not able to pin his link to the board.  I know that if I moved on to some others, he isn’t along.

Bottom line is that Pinterest will only allow for active content with at least one piece of imagery or a movie.  There’s another issue that I thought about after the fact.  With Pinterest, you’re pinning a static link to the bulletin board which doesn’t really make a great deal of sense for something as dynamic as a collection of blogs.  As I considered all of this, I dropped the concept.  Not every attempt can be knocked out of the park.

It’s not a problem with Pinterest; I think it’s just a matter of it not being the tool for this sort of job.

The LiveBinder site and the Scoopit site continue to do a great job.  Please check them out to see the great content from Ontario Edubloggers.

4 Replies to “Where Pinterest Didn’t Cut It”

  1. Hi Doug, I agree that Scoop.it sounds like a much better tool for what you’re trying to accomplish. I set up a Scoop.it topic dedicated to STEM and I use the “unofficial” chrome extension to curate my Scoops. I like that you can send Scoops over to Tumblr which is another great alternative platform that you might want to consider. It wouldn’t be any extra work – all you would need to do is create the Tumblr blog and check off send the send to Tumblr option (using the extension).

    Like

  2. Hey Doug,

    Thanks for continuing to share your explorations with Pinterest. What I am really interested in is that it seems to be a bit of a gateway for many people. I have a few teachers following my pins who haven’t joined twitter, so it is a great way for me to share web content with them.

    I was planning to make a board to use at a talk about web2.0 tools in the classroom and will still play around with that, but maybe it won’t be what I am looking for either. When you tried to pin the blogs that didn’t have images, could you not pin their banner or something? Just a thought.

    Shannon

    Like

  3. Hi Shannon…often the banner is just stylized text. Pinterest apparently looks for an absolute image. The product is still in its infancy (read beta) so maybe something will change. Wouldn’t it be cool if you could have the option to do a partial screen capture and include that?

    I’ll be interested in what you’re doing with Web2.0. Please share it when you get it to your liking.

    Like

  4. Hi Ileane — I really like that concept – doing something once and then automate the process so that you share it in more than one place for those who care to look for it. It’s working smarter and not necessarily harder with the proper tools. Way to go.

    Sadly, in Ontario, I’m seeing many school districts blocking Tumblr.

    Like

Leave a Reply

