Column A Links or Column B Pinterest


At last night’s class at the university, we were discussing gaming in education.  There were a couple of articles that the student were to read and come to the class prepared to discuss.  As I always do, I like to share my ongoing learning with the class as a startup to the evening.  If you’re a follower of this blog, you know that I’ve been learning about Pinterest and the power that can come from pinning resources visually.  The articles that the students are to read are located in CLEW, the Learning Management System at the University of Windsor.  I thought that I would augment those articles with some learning.

First of all, I wanted to share the blog articles that I had written about Pinterest.  Secondly, while it’s always great to look at scholarly articles, I wanted to show what real teachers are doing with resources in real classrooms.  And, my mind immediately turned to MZMollyTL who I learned was a big gamer from our experiences in the Great OSLA Faceoff.  She’s blogged about her own thoughts and experiences so what better way to get these students hands on with a real life example. 

Now, there were two ways that I could turn the students to these resources.

Column A

Thanks, Diana for being so transparent with your experimentations.

Now, as a university academic approach, I would have no problem with providing the above.  After all, we’re just using it as a launch pad to get started.  But, I decided to give Pinterest a go as a way to first, demonstrate the product and secondly, direct them to the resource by picture rather than URL. 

Column B

image

(Note that this is resized so that it fits into the width of this blog)

The net result is the same.  Just click a link and you’re at a resource.  But, in the elementary school classroom, it demonstrates a quick and easy way to get to the desired resource.  It worked very nicely.  Thank you, Pinterest.

Above and beyond this simple example, I’m starting to think of this in the longer term for using internet resources.  You could create a board for each individual topic or concept being taught.  With the bookmark tool, as you’re researching resource, just tuck them away.  Then, when it’s actually time to teach that unit, point the students to the board and you’re good to go.  All in all, it seems pretty easy and functional.

OTR Links 01/12/2012


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.