doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Me, and Edgar Allan Poe

I can always use a hand when I write blog posts.  Usually, I don’t get any and you’re stuck reading what I can manage to scrape together.

But now, I can get a little famous help.

Google Docs now has an experimental “Master’s Edition”.  It’s one thing to collaborate with Fred down the street, a group of students, planners for a project, collaborators for work, but now you can get to write with one of the greats.

The “Master’s Edition” lets you work with

  • Friedrich Nietzsche
  • William Shakespeare
  • Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Emily Dickinson
  • Charles Dickins
  • Edgar Allan Poe

Head over to this page.  You’re dumped into a new Google Word Processing document with the above six as collaborators.

Start your document.  When you finish a sentence to pause for a thought…your collaborators kick in for inspiration.

It’s going to take some time to master this, I see.  In the meantime, it’s just fun to work with the team!

What’s next Google?

A spreadsheet with a famous mathematician?

The ultimate presentation from a famous TED talker?

Have fun!



One response to “Me, and Edgar Allan Poe”

  1. Good morning, Doug!
    This find of yours was just too good to pass up. I was on my iPad in an instant, and shortly thereafter I was sitting in front of my computer, doing a screen capture as I wrote. I’ve posted a response: “Create with the Great”.

    It will be interesting to see where this goes. I gather it’s currently an experiment on the part of Google. Maybe a bit of a step up from Weizenbaum’s Eliza at MIT in the 60s?

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.