doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


I Think I’m Good

Like many people I was very surprised when the announcement that Google will be discontinued its RSS reader in July of this year.  When I first read about this, I was worried.  How will I get my news?

Then, I realized that my use of Google Reader has dropped off over the time that I had an account.  Don’t get me wrong; I still use it but it’s not my only tool.  Traditionally, it has been the place where I’ve added news feeds from great blogs and technology sources.  My reading initially was solely done through Google Reader but I think I’ve moved on.  These days, I do a great deal of reading on the iPad because it’s just more comfortable to lie in bed or on a coach and check on the latest.  I also have a wide variety of sources for my reading and enjoy the face that the day’s readings come from many sources unknown to me.

Here’s a picture of my "News" folder on the iPad.

There’s plenty of good reading there.  There is a crossover of content from here to my laptop.  Since Chrome is my current favourite browser, it comes as no surprise that a couple of extensions are installed there to make reading easy.  Feedly and NewsSquares lead the way here.

It’s exhausting just pulling this together.  I didn’t even mention the LiveBinder of Ontario Edubloggers.  The LiveBinder format works well there.  If none of the above yanks your chain, read Phil Bradley’s 20 Alternatives to Google Reader followed by Even More (33) Google Reader Alternatives.

Yeah, I think I’m good when Google pulls the plug on Reader.

Powered by Qumana



5 responses to “I Think I’m Good”

  1. Good reading, yes. But how easy is it to use the content – comment on it, say, or blog bout it?

    Like

  2. Feedly and Newssquares work nicely. Tending to comment and blog via computer more and more these days.

    Like

  3. Philip Cummings Avatar
    Philip Cummings

    I’m trying Feedly once again. I have also moved all my feeds to Newsblur and Good Noos, but I’m still annoyed that Google has dropped Reader. It’s a nuisance to have to go elsewhere. I am subscribed to many of blogs, and some I never want to miss because of the connection I have with the blogger. I don’t want to turn my content filter over to someone else. I like Zite and it does a fair job, but I still prefer my own feeds to Zite’s choices most of the time. Thanks for sharing, Doug.

    Like

  4. Have you tried to create a LiveBinder of your blogs that you follow? Not quite RSS but they’re all in one spot. I’ve asked the developers about creating an RSS feed for the entire LiveBinder and they’re considering it.

    Like

  5. Philip Cummings Avatar
    Philip Cummings

    Let me know if they come through. I’ve toyed around with Livebinders, but never really considered it for my feeds. The problem is that I subscribe to so many – over 300 at this point. My fear is that a “binder” would be really clunky. What do you think?

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.