doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Countdown to Christmas

It’s that time of year where you’re reminded that we’re counting down to Christmas at every turn.  For me, it was a toss-up for dirtiest classroom moments with Hallowe’en.  I didn’t forbid candies in my classroom and somehow I always thought that there would be a bit of reciprocation of putting wrappers in the garbage can.

Wrong again, Doug!

Moving along…

I do remember one year I was being particularly creative and had a self-created Computer Science Advent Calendar on one of my bulletin boards.  I thought I was being particularly genius introducing the concept.  But, everyone saw through it; it was just a veiled attempt at something educational.  I did a lot of work researching builders and even more work coming through with some activities to go with each of them.

This was long before research is just a simple Google search away for each.

Speaking on the Internet, if there’s something that can be made digital, it will be.

So, it should not be a surprise that the NorthPole has gone digital.  (Flash required)

Screenshot 2018-12-02 at 09.14.40.png

So, Santa’s Secret Village is there for all to explore.

There are lots of puzzles, writing activities. crafts, cooking, weather, …

Take a few moments to look around and enjoy.

Digital sure makes my bristol Advent calendar look pretty lame.



Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.