doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2022-08-07

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • Housing has just got crazy – here’s a crazy story about crazy prices for a place in Hamilton
  • From my young neck of the woods, a nice reminisce about a church that I’ve been by so many times

Monday

  • It was sad reading about this fire from Puslinch – been there many times
  • A music festival cancelled because of gun laws makes you just shake your head and wonder

Tuesday

  • Feeling nostalgic about the return of this software makes me feel old
  • I’d love to have an objective teacher-librarian explain the problem with this list of banned books at this time

Wednesday

  • I know that I look pretty darned good – people sure looked a lot older in the past
  • A shot across the bow as one of the teaching unions shares its opening position on compensation

Thursday

  • They should be on the defensive – cutbacks in health care are showing – they’re more immediately visible than those to education but the hurt will still come
  • If you’re looking to record a podcast, here’s a list of software – I’ve always used Audacity – now we go live and Stephen hits record on his end

Friday

  • If you’re in the market for a computer for your kids, this article gives some interesting suggestions
  • An interesting take on debloating Windows on a new computer. It’s too late for me; I’ve gone through with a wrecking ball

Saturday

  • An interesting approach to paired programming for girls research report
  • If you remember the Big 8, you know that it was the place for music all over North America driven by Rosalie Trembley and now there’s a plan to formally recognize her contributions

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – August 5, 2022

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

https://wke.lt/w/s/DqdW8y


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a blog post/show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers. Stephen Hurley and I use their writing as the basis for a conversation.

Featured Bloggers:

  • Melanie White – @whiteroomradio
  • Jen Aston – @mmejaston
  • Arianna Lambert – @MsALambert
  • Michael Frankfort @mfrank_76
  • The EduGals – @EduGals
  • Diana Maliszewski – @MzMollyTL

This week’s voicEd Radio show:

There was no show this past week.


Technology Troubleshooting

I switched to one of those “other” browsers this past week to give it a shot. What was attractive was that it had a built-in ad blocker.

Sadly, though, it didn’t block them all. I wonder if they were paid to let some through.

Adding my favourite uBlock Origin solved that problem in a hurry.


Look what I made

With all the Wordle craze, I of course blogged about it earlier but also created a Wakelet of all the Wordle clones I could find. Once created, I’ve been adding to it daily, it seems. I guess it’s presumptuous to think I could do it all in one session. It certainly has taken the online world by storm.

My collection is available here: https://wke.lt/w/s/BuvP40

Update – July 31: Up to 72 entries.


Video of the Week

More Dr. Hook. Great memories. But it’s Dennis Lororriere…


Photo of the Week

My youngest daughter has been the queen of trimming fingernails around here. When she wasn’t available, her older sister stepped in.


Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2022-08-07”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2022-08-07 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  2. […] Sunday – My Week Ending August 7, 2022 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.