doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2022-01-16

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • If you’re an optimist and are looking to plan for a holiday that stays in Canada, here are some suggestions
  • The Town of Tecumseh is looking for Indigenous Artwork for some of its buildings

Monday

  • This is an amazing simulation – you drop a raindrop on a map and watch where it goes. It would be even more amazing if it wasn’t just for the United States
  • Just what we need – a whole generation of drivers that can’t parallel park. Or, at least they won’t be tested to get their license

Tuesday

  • We always have nuts on hand around here to grab a handful as a snack – turns out, they’re good for us
  • I was emotional just reading this story about how Sidney Poitier learned to read and it wasn’t through a school

Wednesday

  • I hope that every educator believes this and now we have to have politicians and others to believe as well
  • First it was Springsteen, but now there are others who are selling their collections of music

Thursday

  • If you’re looking for a change in employer, you might be interested in this list of the best places to work in Canada
  • It’s somehow comforting to see that the Royal Family isn’t immune to accusations and actions taken but still you have to wonder why it happened in the first place

Friday

  • Needless to say, I’ve never seen a school library with all the fixings like you’ll see in this library tour
  • This is a great story about supporting local business serving beer and you’re wearing a snowsuit

Saturday

  • I’m always in search of the perfect coffee — the place we got ours from yesterday could learn from these tips
  • Great advice – now that schools will be opening, we need to keep them open, students, teachers, and administrators safe, and homes safe too

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – January 14, 2022

https://wke.lt/w/s/kh4vVZ


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers.

Featured Bloggers:

  • Marie Snyder – @MarieSnyder27
  • Lisa Corbett – @LisaCorbett0261
  • Matthew Morris – @callmemrmorris
  • Marc Hodgkinson – @Mr_H_Teacher
  • Kristy – @2peasandadog
  • Science Teachers’ Association of Ontario / L’Association des professeurs de science de l’Ontario – @staoapso

This week’s show:

https://voiced.ca/podcast_episode_post/jurisdiction-online-learning-and-a-oneword-2022/

Opening Song:

Closing Song:

All of the shows are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 8:45 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

It’s amazing how fickle I can be. I love playing around with beta based stuff to see what’s coming and to share some input on it.

For the longest time, I was on the beta channel for my Chromebook and all was good. The latest update ended up repeatedly crashing the computer. I could go two ways; wait until the upgrade came along or roll back to the stable channel.

I was in a bad mood so I rolled back. It was an interesting experience because you don’t just roll back. The process involves a complete powerwash of the computer and then a reinstall. So, I did.

Chrome did have other things nicely backed up to the Google Cloud and so it did come back and I was able to go back to mostly normal.

I feel so safe.


Video of the Week

Please let this be true.


Photo of the Week

I was at my desk and caught my walking buddy on the patio just outside.

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2022-01-16”

  1. […] Sunday – My Week Ending January 16, 2022 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.