doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2022-01-23

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • A wonderful story from Sarnia of a Deli where people are paying it forward to those less well-off with Post-it notes
  • The best thing about being an artist is having a showcase to display your efforts and this one comes from my old secondary school

Monday

  • I read articles like this one (bizarre shortcuts in Windows 11) and try them out and see if any of them appear to be useful enough for me to remember
  • You can’t beat a good frozen landmark

Tuesday

  • Snowstorms always bring up a discussion and this article compares the latest against some of the big ones of the past
  • St. Clair College delays the return to the classroom until the end of the month

Wednesday

  • TVOntario has been very vocal about questioning the decisions of the Ontario Government and this is a piece asking what the shutdown accomplished
  • Another insightful piece about Wordle and why it’s hooking so many people on the word game (this blogger included)

Thursday

  • Growing up, the Red Cross provided the swimming courses for us until we graduated Senior and then moved on to Bronze Medallion
  • You’d think that someone working in the Ministry of Education would know that one size doesn’t fit all in education and facemasks

Friday

  • I read a lot about Google’s Material Theme but don’t really fully comprehend it and maybe they don’t either?
  • This sounds realy interesting – building a school in the same building as a condo in Toronto – being sent home may never be the same

Saturday

  • Interesting post from Aviva Dunsiger about her observations about social behaviours of her students now that they’re back face to face
  • Taping a student’s facemask to their face should be a career ending move

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – January 21, 2022

https://wke.lt/w/s/6LNP6z


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers.

Featured Bloggers:

  • Dave Cormier – @davecormier
  • Diana Maliszewski – @MzMollyTL
  • Deanna McLennan – @McLennan1977
  • Nilmini Ratwatte Henstridge – @NRatwatte
  • Aviva Dunsiger – @avivaloca
  • Charles Pascal – @CEPascal

This week’s show:

https://voiced.ca/podcast_episode_post/connections-with-new-teachers-technology-and-the-realities-of-returning-to-school/

Opening Song:

Closing Song:

All of the shows are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 8:45 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

I felt like a dummy this Friday morning doing my #FollowFriday routine.

Like normal, I had Tweetdeck open and was creating the post in the input boxes. I start with my Ontario Educators 1 list and typically do three posts from there and slide to the #2 list where I continue the process.

At the time I’m doing this, I’m also watching the morning news and somehow I must have tapped the trackpad and jumped from List 1 to List 2. The lists were create chronologically and all of a sudden I started to not put the names together. The timing was wrong.

The solution was to rework the process and drink more coffee. Like the farmer said when the cow died “Never done that before”.


Video of the Week

We lost a legend this week.


Photo of the Week

It was a cold morning walk and Jaimie all of a sudden flattened and started to go into stalk mode. It took me a bit to figure it out. A chicken had crossed the road (yes, I know) … The ears sure tell a story.

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2022-01-23”

  1. […] Sunday – My Week Ending January 23, 2022 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.