doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2021-10-03

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • It should come as no surprise that parents and teachers are not happy with the return to school plans
  • Buying a smartwatch was one of the best things that I ever did for staying connected – here are some things to consider before buying

Monday

  • I shared this link a few times last week about books from Indigenous writers and will do so again here
  • I’ll bet that if kids paid taxes, the Ontario government would find some way to make sure that they get tested like businesses do

Tuesday

  • The University of Windsor lights up in orange
  • Jobs in Ontario just got a little safer as the government hires more than 100 new inspectors

Wednesday

  • A powerful post from Pav Wander that resurfaced in an article about a local teacher getting student names right
  • Do I want sites to know that I’m a slow reader? This new feature in Google Chrome will let them know if I go idle

Thursday

  • Great news for those 39 miners who were trapped underground in Sudbury
  • Some tips for using a password manager at least for now as services try to take us passwordless

Friday

  • I thought that this was pretty cool – it’s a collection of places in Ontario that served as locations for television shows
  • A sad “sign of the times” story about searching for more unmarked graves – this time at the former Mount Elgin Indian Residential School

Saturday

  • From an “On this Day” site, it notes that the very first Peanuts comic was published
  • It’s always important to keep your browser and computer updated – this time it’s serious for Google Chrome

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – October 1, 2021

https://wke.lt/w/s/UIsrq0


voicEd Radio

This is a mostly weekly radio conversion with Stephen Hurley on voicEd Radio where we take a look at some recent writing from Ontario Education bloggers. It turns into a Friday blog post.

Featured Bloggers:

  • Will Gourley – @WillGourley
  • Jennifer Casa-Todd – @JCasaTodd
  • Diana Maliszewski – @MzMollyTL
  • Anne-Marie Kee – @AMKeeLCS
  • Sue Bruyns – @sbruyns
  • Aviva Dunsiger – @avivaloca
  • Peter Skillen – @peterskillen

This week’s show:

Opening Song:

Closing Song:

All of the shows are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 8:45 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

I always kid Stephen Hurley when we’re waiting to go on on Wednesday mornings about he being so picky about audio. Over the summer when we had guest hosts, he eased up on me.

But, we were back at it on Wednesday and he had me adjusting things on my end!

I told him that I hadn’t touched a thing since the previous show and he indicated that he gets that all the time. Honestly, I recently hadn’t. But I did the adjustment and the podcast sounded as good as it’s going to get with my horrible voice.


Video of the Week

The story of us” is a must view series for Canadians (and others who are interested in Canada)


Photo of the Week

Another picture from the Uncommon Festival – our local bookstore

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2021-10-03”

  1. […] Sunday – My Week Ending October 3, 2021 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.