doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


About me

I was taking a wander around the blog last night and got hung up on the “About Me” page. The information there seems mostly up to date but there was an infographic in there from a long time ago. I figured I should get rid of it.

The content there was really dated. It had collections of Twitter profiles from people who are no longer in my networking world. It was also back before the days that I spent a lot of time organizing folks into Twitter Lists as opposed to this one great big long list of followers.

Fortunately, it was branded with the source of the graphic – a Visual.ly Labs project. Unfortunately, that project is no longer available from what I can see. So, I went looking for another visualization. Why? Just because I can, I suppose. There were a few available but I also wanted one that I didn’t need to sign in to; I just wanted something that would take my public facing stuff because that’s all that anyone can see anyway.

I ended up looking at Foller.me. You can see the whole page of results at: https://foller.me/dougpete

There were a couple of parts of the graphic that really stood out to me and I think best describes what I use Twitter for.

The first was the topics that I mention and displayed in a tag cloud format.

There’s some good stuff in there and I’ve got to lend credibility with the prominence of “ontario” and “educators”. Follow me on Friday mornings to see why!

The second was a collection of Twitter profile images of people that I’ve interacted with.

Are you in there?

I thought that it was an interesting exercise. I’m going to include the tag cloud of topics in the About Me page as I’ve killed off the previous infographic.



7 responses to “About me”

  1. Doug, this post reminds me that I need to update my About Me page on my blog. These are some interesting links here to explore. I’m not in your pictures, but I’m reminded of the fact that we now connect more through this blog than Twitter. Twitter leads me to this blog often though. I wonder if others have found that they have more blog connections with you or more Twitter ones … hmmm …

    Aviva

    Like

    1. P.S. By links, I meant more the Follower.Me page. Forgive me: no coffee yet. 🙂

      Like

    2. My About Me page was sadly outdated and in need of some care. I just needed to sit down and do it. That’s hard to find time in this nice weather but there was a storm threatening yesterday afternoon. Opportunity!

      Interesting observation about connecting; I think that I connect differently these days. I appreciate the sharing of wisdom of others but don’t always show it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alfred Thompson Avatar
    Alfred Thompson

    It’s been a while since I looked at my About Me on my blog. It links to me web page. Which I think needs updating. I should do that.

    Thanks for the link to foller.me. It was interesting seeing what it came up with for me. I like the word cloud.

    Like

  3. Andrew Forgrave Avatar
    Andrew Forgrave

    Good morning Doug!

    I was happy just now to be reminded of the time when we conversed regularly and my Twitter profile ranked as one of your strongest connections.

    I’m disappointed to see that I no longer show up in the newer analysis. Sad face. 😦

    Like

  4. […] About me – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.