doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2021-05-30

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.

Sunday

  • For those who have updated their Windows 10 instance (and who wouldn’t), here are some tips
  • Even though I’m not a Leafs fan, I was sickened by the hit to John Tavares and it was great to read that he was out of the hospital

Monday

  • If everyone read this article and recognizes how Google is struggling with fake news, they’d take their own personal second thought on what they read
  • Ticks are the most disgusting things going these days and they seem to be everywhere

Tuesday

  • As if over exposure to screen time wasn’t bad enough going into the pandemic, how will it be handled when we get it behind us?
  • Is this the time for banks to be raising their fees?

Wednesday

  • A look at Startpage if you’re in search of a new search engine
  • To be honest, I don’t wave when I sign off Zoom but somehow I feel like I should be. Here are some thoughts about that

Thursday

  • As a user of many browsers, reinventing them was a story that I just had to read and wonder out
  • I find the musing over hybrid classrooms for the future incredibly interesting. Those that promote it have no idea. If it’s the solution, you really haven’t looked at the problem fully

Friday

  • You really need to be using a password manager these days – this is an article that addresses the topic with suggestions for free solutions
  • For people around here, D.M.Eagle Public School has an awesome location but it’s seen better days. Plans are for a new school

Saturday

  • A sign of the times. What do you do with a closed department store? Make it a vaccination centre
  • Long story short – it’s the fear of missing out…

Blog Posts on
doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – May 28, 2021

https://wke.lt/w/s/KHolHD


voicEd Radio

On this week’s show, Stephen Hurley and I chatted about a twist in higher education, brain breaks, teaching online, blossoming students, and driving with music.

Featured bloggers:

  • Terry Greene – @greeneterry
  • Svjetlana Vrbanic – @lanavrb
  • Tina Zita – @tina_zita
  • Lise Farquhar – @L_Farquhar_IB
  • Laura Elliott – @lauraelliottPhD

Opening Song:

Closing Song:

All of the podcasts are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 8:45 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

My big troubleshooting incident this week involved my wife’s new Chromebook.

You can read about it here.

It’s kind of a long story but has a happy ending.


Video of the Week

It was really chilly and rainy this week and I stayed inside. I treated myself to this concert which was an awesome reminder of what a great talent Canada has in Burton Cummings.


Photo of the Week

I know this was used earlier this morning but it still was a sad moment to see part of our history dragged away, leaving tire marks.

May be an image of grass, tree and nature

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



One response to “My Week Ending 2021-05-30”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2021-05-30 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.