doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2019-10-06

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.

  • This is a very interesting tour back in history looking at the software that got us to where we are today.
  • Is this inspired by crappy internet access or by our development of a limited attention span?
  • I guess I’m just unqualified to be a babysitter for nobility.
  • This is a great deal of money. I wonder if any of these tickets were challenged in court.
  • I’m not sure that anything could make Bing cool but Flight Simulator is trying according to this article.
  • Talk about being in the right place at the right time with the right camera.
  • If you’ve ever wanted to “think like a coder“, then this might be for you.
  • Podcasting was big (think iPod) and then it went away and now it’s back stronger than ever. How about for the classroom?
  • A hilarious look back at the 2000s and things that we just took for granted.
  • If you have activated Linux support on your Chromebook, here are some applications to try. Not for the faint of heart units though.
  • They’re funny because they’re true. I wonder if they would be funny or even happy in any other profession.
  • Remember Alex Couros as a keynote speaker from the Bring IT, Together conference a few years ago? Here are annual pictures that he takes with his daughter.
  • Scratch didn’t make the list but there are lots of other programming languages that are considered “best”.
  • This was somewhat interesting about a candidate for Prime Minister holding dual citizenship. Does it matter?

Blog Posts on doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog.


#FollowFriday – October 4, 2019

https://wke.lt/w/s/nH8z80


voicEd Radio

My on demand radio page can be found here.  

This week’s show was great. Sadly, it won’t be herd because of technology problems at voicEd Radio.

Intro song:

Blog posts this week came from:

  • @dr_weston_PhD
  • @Ahpotts
  • @raspberryberet3
  • @thomlynn101
  • @greeneterry
  • @MrSoclassroom
  • @LisaCorbett0261

Technology Troubleshooting

I’m a fan of learning by accident.

You might have know this but I didn’t. I had a couple of windows open with tabs within each window. I wanted to drag a tab from one window to another. It seemed like a simple task so it didn’t get a lot of attention like it should.

Anyway, instead of dropping the tab onto the desired window’s tab bar, I dropped it on the + sign. That’s how you add a new blank tab.

But when you drop a tab from another window on top of it, it opens a new window with the tab sitting by itself. Cool. I actually think I could use this on a regular basis because I like to organize things by window rather than opening a whack of tabs inside a single window.


Video of the Week

Found this live performance while I was looking for the original sketch for my blog post from yesterday. I would have loved to have been in that audience.


Photo of the Week

Jaimie and I went for a walk on the Chrysler Greenway yesterday and, of course, he’s a lot faster than me. Or maybe he’s trying to reach the light at the end of the tunnel?

Thanks for reading. Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



One response to “My Week Ending 2019-10-06”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2019-10-06 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.