doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2022-07-31

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • This is the first time I’ve seen so much knowledge about using Google Earth and is worth working through, particularly if you think you know it all – you don’t
  • This is an interesting article that builds the case for using DuckDuckGo as your default search engine

Monday

  • I’m not crying; you’re crying
  • Computer science teachers will appreciate the need to checking and rechecking your code lest you bring down a Canada-wide network

Tuesday

  • I have real problems thinking that TikTok is going to take over the search engine world
  • Shopify seemed to have it all made and planned out to take over their sector of the market but seem to have overshot and is now correcting

Wednesday

  • Google used to stand head and shoulders above everyone else in search but there are some pretty good options available these days
  • If you’ve ever used “free” and “video editing” in the same sentence, you might want to check this out

Thursday

  • Toronto has been in the news lately and not in a good way – one of the 20 worst cities?
  • It’s not something that I regularly think about but a strategy for storage of material in the cloud is something worth considering

Friday

  • An interesting read about one of the ways that Microsoft is working on improving the Edge browser’s performance
  • If you’re a Macintosh user, you might appreciate reading this article about a number of shortcut keys that you could be using

Saturday

  • I didn’t win the lottery (actually, I didn’t buy a ticket) but if I had money to burn, I’d buy one of these
  • Listowel and Wingham will have their emergency rooms closed this weekend – it’s a continuation of trends in Huron/Perth that saw closures in Clinton and Seaforth – does this not bother the government?

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – July 29, 2022

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

https://wakelet.com/wake/o4OmQpJW0TSK5AIrsHOjr


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a blog post/show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers. Stephen Hurley and I use their writing as the basis for a conversation.

Featured Bloggers:

  • Will Gourley – @WillGourley
  • Diana Maliszewski – @MzMollyTL
  • Marc Hodgkinson – @Mr_H_Teacher
  • Rabia Khokhar – @Rabia_Khokhar1
  • Joel McLean – @jprofNB
  • Krista McCracken – @kristamccracken
  • Peter McAsh – @pmcash

This week’s show:

Opening Song:

Closing Song:


Technology Troubleshooting

I decided to stop living dangerously with my Chromebook this week. It had become increasingly slower and sluggish. There really weren’t any suggestions that I could find that would resolve the situation. I have the same number of tabs open that I ever did and the same extensions installed. Like they save, I didn’t do nuthin’

The one suggestion that I ended up doing is a Powerwash and dropping from the Beta Channel to the Stable Channel. For this moment in time, it’s running a great deal smoother.

I love that machine for just sitting on my lap in a chair or on the patio. There’s one application that I chokes on all the time and that is Tweetdeck. I need it to do the FollowFriday stuff that I do so Thursday nights and Friday mornings, I’m on another more powerful machine.

It’s nice to have options.


Look what I made

With all the Wordle craze, I of course blogged about it earlier but also created a Wakelet of all the Wordle clones I could find. Once created, I’ve been adding to it daily, it seems. I guess it’s presumptuous to think I could do it all in one session. It certainly has taken the online world by storm.

My collection is available here: https://wke.lt/w/s/BuvP40

Update – July 31: Up to 72 entries.


Video of the Week

Related to my fixation of that Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show, I downloaded an album for my iPod to listed to as I walk. I’m now fixated on this song. A song to dedicate to someone you broke up with.


Photo of the Week

This speaks to having good friends. We went out for supper last night and the flag was up on our mailbox. There were three pieces of mail including one with a return address in New England. My address was printed nicely on a printer. Who do I know in New England that I owe money to? <grin>

It turns out to be a nice gift from my friend Alfred Thompson. You can’t have too many friends of this calibre.

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



One response to “My Week Ending 2022-07-31”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2022-07-31 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.