doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Songs about Dads

I guess you know that people read your blog when they write to feel alienated. That happened this past week when Aviva Dunsiger checked me about my post dealing with rock songs that didn’t make a top 50 list. “Why not country?”, she asked as she passed along this link. Figuring into this was Will Gourley’s terrific post about being a father.

https://www.greatamericancountry.com/living/lifestyles/top-20-country-songs-about-dad

Any “Top #” list opens it up to people who want to add to it. So here I am.

Now, I come to my music appreciation honestly. Growing up, there were two stations that played for us – CKLW and CKNX. Between the two of them, I got a good background in rock, Motown, and country music.

I took a look at the list that Aviva provided and I knew so many of them. But, of course, there were some left off the list. And, here they are! Well, at least ten more of them.

Mr. Mom” – Lonestar

“My Last Name” – Dierks Bentley

“Highway 20 Ride” – Zac Brown Band

“Song For Dad” – Keith Urban

“He Walked on Water” – Randy Travis 

“The Walk” – Sawyer Brown

“You Should Be Here”Cole Swindell

“There You’ll Be”Faith Hill

I Wish I Could Have Been There” – John Anderson

“Cat’s in the Cradle”Harry Chapin
(maybe not pure country but still an awesome song)

Ball’s in your court. Can you add to the list?



4 responses to “Songs about Dads”

  1. I LOVE country music and Cole Swindell is one of my favourites! My dad introduced me to country when I was little. My absolute favourite singers are Kenny Rogers from the older generation and Brett Eldredge from the younger ones. The funny thing is that a few years back, I discovered that there is a huge country music festival in Gstaad here in Switzerland, and the year I found out, Brett was here! So my friends and I went and we had a super time.

    I totally went off track with my comment, but I’m glad to see that I share yet another interest with you, Doug and Aviva too!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for the information, Vicky. I didn’t know about Gstaad but will be off to learn more about it right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doug, you added some wonderful ones here, and now I find myself humming along as I go to make coffee. 🙂

    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Songs about Dads – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.