doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Expensive air

We got notification of our smartphone bill yesterday. We have it set up as direct payment for convenience and so we don’t actually have to look at the dollar value.

That does help a bit with blood pressure.

I will confess that our total bill has dropped. We dropped the landline and moved that number to my wife’s phone and I changed carriers for a drop in monthly costs.

Like most, we anguished over all the different options that were available. Actually, I anguished; my wife just wanted a phone that would replicate the landline. i.e. no need for data and a phone that would let her make and receive calls. I wanted a bit of data since I’m often travelling to places where I need to provide my own access to get email and other things. I was prepared to go for 1GB but there was a special where you would pay for 2GB and actually get 9GB.

This was all well over a year ago in what can best be described as a perfect world. We would travel; I would go to conferences; we’d visit friends; we’d go to restaurants and it was nice being connected.

When I think back over the past year, we’ve left Essex County twice. Once was for a doctor appointment in London and the other time was for a trip to Wheatley and down to this little beach, Romney Township Public Beach where apparently they have the best smelling fallen trees. Truly, that’s it.

Being connected really takes on a different meaning when you’re at home connected to your regular internet access. There’s no need to roam and constant connections aren’t all that important when you’re back home in an hour or two after a dog walk.

I think the province has found the key to keeping people at home. Close down any facility that might offer public washrooms. Thank goodness for those ONRoutes even though they’re running at reduced capacity.

Sadly, the phone carrier hasn’t recognized the drop in usage and adjusted monthly charges accordingly. I freely admit that the network needs to be installed and maintained and I’m OK with paying to make that magic happen. There are fewer and fewer opportunities to pull a rabbit out of a hat.

A regularly functioning smartphone runs though the air. (I know, I know; it’s not that simple) When you’re really not using it, that air gets kind of expensive.

I just wish that there was something magical to do. Like many, I was hoping for some relief with the government announcement yesterday. I’m guessing there might be a few more washrooms open although you might have to pay green fees to use them? The bottom line, it seems to me for many people, is that the hope for a June 2 return to normal has been pushed back a couple of weeks.



3 responses to “Expensive air”

  1. Our insurance company recently gave out rebates — $50 for each vehicle insured in the month of Feb. So, there’s that. Yes, all eyes and feet waiting for June 2 here too. A few hair salons in Thunder Bay have claimed that they will open on June 3 no matter what. I am trying hard not to feel like our whole summer was just taken away. Now to find new things to keep me going.. take up golf?

    Like

  2. Andrew Forgrave Avatar
    Andrew Forgrave

    Good morning Doug! Hi Sheila!

    I won big with a small rebate on car insurance. Woohoo! I then paid 20 times the rebate to get my brakes redone, as apparently they get rusty if you don’t use them (I do use my breaks when I drive, I’ve just not been driving).

    I have always had at least six GB of data attached to my smart phone plan, ever since the iPhone arrived in Canada on June 9, 2008. I remember the controversy before it launched here, with the strong advocacy aimed at getting Rogers to offer a plan with more than a single GB of data. The stats out of the US (they got the iPhone a year before the rest of the world) were conclusive in showing that the advanced tech and Safari browser on the first iPhone were by far leading the pack in mobile web page views. Remember before that when you had to design webpages for old-school cell phones? Ack. There have been times when I have been on an extended trip (prior to COVID) where I increased my data package to account for significant mobile use over the span of a month or two — shutting down and unplugging most of your tech at home (aside from the essentials) can offset the cost with the electricity savings.

    However — most of my data usage over the past year has been over Wi-Fi at home, and so I have reduced my cell data plan in the interim. No point in paying for air if you’re not using it. (I haven’t needed to pay for air for my tires, either.)

    Following along the same logic, I realized that with the limited amount of travel my 2013 MacBook Pro has done over the past year (it doesn’t really leave my desk these days), the overworked fans and 100°C CPU temperature alerts that had returned with the recent sun were a reminder of what was yet to come yet in the summer months as the power throttling of Intel CPU performance would again take hold. It took a day to transfer my data and applications off of my trusty workhorse and onto a new base model M1 Mac Mini, and I have yet to hear a fan, with a much snappier performance and no issues at all. My plan had been to replace the 2013 laptop with a new MacBook Pro when they are released later this year, but the rumour mill on that has been churning fiercely for months. We’ll see what happens the next time I need to travel for an extended period of time – – that’s not going to be for months yet, I’m sure. In the meantime, I’ve got top-notch performance for all the upcoming work in the lead up to ECOOcampON21 in August.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Expensive air – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.