doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Whatever happened to …

Grand Bend?

Well, to the best of my knowledge, it’s still there. Growing up, it was a destination point for the weekends. Who can forget The Gables. Well, I guess a lot of people. These days, it’s just another place to visit on the web. I don’t miss the long traffic backups though!

A holiday destination, there are so many places to recall – the beach of course, golfing, restaurants, beach stores, and of course Sea Jewels for my daughters.

In normal times, Grand Bend is a twice a year destination as we would head north to visit our home town and lay flowers in the cemetery. Not to slight them, but Bayfield and Goderich were always on that trip as we swing through Lambton and Huron Counties.

Growing up, it was a day (or night) trip for us or a camping trip to the Pinery. My aunt and uncle often rented a cottage there on the beach and we’d go and visit. There really are some of the best beaches in Ontario located there.

This Max Webster song always reminds me of Grand Bend.

Of course, these days trips like this are out of the question as we’re forced to stay at home. The biggest deterrent, of course, isn’t some edict coming from Trawna but the lack of washrooms on the routes.

My heart goes out to the store owners and holiday businesses who have a short summer time window to earn business from us holidayers. It’s not uncommon, usually from the Haliburton area to read of locals asking people not to come for a vacation until we get all this behind us.

In the meantime, beach cams showing lonely beaches can be found here.

Around here, it’s a regular tradition that has had to be put on hold.

Maybe there will be a time when we can have a Million Vacations.

For a Sunday, your thoughts?

  • do you have fond memories of Grand Bend to share?
  • is there a favourite holiday destination that you visit that has had to be put on hold the past year?
  • if the travel ban is lifted on June 2, do you have pack up and visit plans or will you wait a bit longer?
  • what would you nominate as the best beach in Ontario?
  • are you a Max Webster fan?
  • the word staycation has taken on increased meaning this past year. What does it look like in your world?

As always, I’d be most interested in your thoughts. Please share them below.

This is a regular Sunday morning post – you can visit them all here.



6 responses to “Whatever happened to …”

  1. Good morning Doug!

    I have had a limited engagement with Grand Bend through the years. I have driven through it a couple of times while travelling along the coast of Lake Huron, both in a southerly and northerly direction. When I was growing up, I would venture as far south along the lake as Southampton and Port Elgin and Kincardine, and periodically as far as Goderich. If I was travelling as far south as grand Bend, it was probably because I was headed to London or Windsor.

    When I was very young, Sauble was the beach we would visit. Once I started travelling to university and back on weekends, I tended to travel past Wasaga Beach on my way to and from Toronto. For the last 30 years or so I’ve lived at the eastern end of Lake Ontario, and so the sandbanks are the beach is closest to home. For the last 30 years or so I’ve lived at the eastern end of Lake Ontario, and so the Sandbanks are the beaches now closest to home. Sauble gives me memories of my childhood, Wasaga Beach is the one that I think of when I think about Research at Beach Resorts, and Sandbanks makes me think about my kids when they were young.

    I have very fond memories of Max Webster. We had them play at our high school. Some friends and I went to see them the night before our bus trip to Florida in grade 13 (I almost missed the bus), and then I would’ve seen them again when I was in Toronto and they were playing Massey Hall. Lily is probably my favourite Max Webster tune. Their song Battlescar, co-produced with Rush, is also a favourite. Toronto Tantos, Hangover, A Million Vacations, Here Among the Cats. Lots of good tunes.

    Although it’s a bit of a pain not to get out as much as I would like, I’m in no rush to travel as soon as the restrictions are lifted. The plan here is to wait until after the second dose and then likely undertake another road trip with my brother, probably in the September-October timeframe.

    Give Jamie a dog biscuit for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug, I’ve never been to Grand Ben, but I hope others can share their stories. I’m actually not that into travel, so staying at home is the perfect vacation for me. Give me some good books and time with my dogs, and I’m happy. I wonder what others do on staycations. 🙂

    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Doug

    I enjoy your posts to Whatever happened… And OTR.

    I appreciate you for your consistent effort and interesting topics.

    Have a wonderful day.

    Warmly

    Daniel

    On Sun., May 16, 2021, 5:00 a.m. doug — off the record, wrote:

    > dougpete posted: ” Grand Bend? Well, to the best of my knowledge, it’s > still there. Growing up, it was a destination point for the weekends. Who > can forget The Gables. Well, I guess a lot of people. These days, it’s just > another place to visit on the web. I don’t m” >

    Like

  4. […] Sunday – Whatever happened to … ? […]

    Like

  5. […] Whatever happened to … – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.