doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Canadian towns

Recently, I stumbled onto this resource and there goes any extra time I might have! It’s called 1000 Towns of Canada and the goal is to have all of Canada’s small towns in one place.

The maple leaves will let you know just what a wealth of information is there already.

Of course, there’s a search field to let you go precisely to your destination.

My initial explorations were a little different – I just zoom in on a community that I know and see what comes up. So, for Seaforth, I get this …

Like most resources like this, it’s interesting to poke around and learn a little of the history of the various locations. Depending upon the link, you might end up with a link to an interview or some pictures historical or otherwise of the communities. Just go nuts clicking on the red links.

In that case of Seaforth, it was a nice memory trip along Main St. South. How many big towns have just one “Main Street”.

When was the last time you poked around your old home town and fully appreciated those people who came from there?

Click here for a Media Kit that explains the project.



3 responses to “Canadian towns”

  1. Perfect for grade 3 social studies teachers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder what my actual home town is. I spent the first 5 years of my life in a small town on the eastern end of Long Island (New York), about 19 years in Brooklyn which would be about the third largest city in the US if it were not actually part of the largest city. And over 40 years in a little town in southern New Hampshire. I do peek in on goings on in East Hampton where I started life. I get email updates from the local paper (I had a paper subscription for years but stopped it when we sold the house we had there a couple of years ago). Lots of famous people have houses there still. Movie and Broadway stars, authors. The Clintons used to stop by to raise money. I miss visiting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Canadian towns – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.