doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2019-10-13

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.

  • We talk about Internet Explorer negatively these days.  But, there was a time when it really helped shape the internet we know.
  • This is another story about problems that teachers face in the classroom because of student behaviour.  In my opinion, they need to be shared widely so that it’s well know.
  • Of course he should be fined for wearing an Apple watch.  Tough guys wear Samsung Gear S3s.  It must be a tough contract that they have with Microsoft.  Remember when the announcers called the Surface tablets iPads?
  • I’m pretty sure that none of these airlines fly in and out of Detroit Metro so I’m safe.
  • One of the first articles that I read about problems with Apple’s Catalina upgrade.  My first reads were from fanboys who said it was the greatest ever.  Maybe some day it will be after the bugs are fixed.
  • This is a report of the collective agreement deal with CUPE.  Financially, they’re going to drop behind inflation.  But, they can still take the time off that they had before.  Does it set the standard for the other federations?
  • Well, if Linus isn’t worried about Microsoft taking over Linux, I guess that I won’t have to worry either.
  • So, here’s advice about not upgrading to the latest version of the Macintosh OS.  A day late for me.
  • I have varied relationships with people from the Hamilton area.  Some of them are the nicest people you’ll ever meet.  Apparently, this confirms that there’s another side to it.
  • I’ve always been pretty good about hitting the mileage written on the little white sticker on the inside of my car.  Usually, it’s 7 500 km between oil changes.
  • I knew most of these things about Google Assistant but learned a few new things and that made reading it all worthwhile.
  • I know a couple of people who bought the crappy Macintosh keyboards of recent years.  I’m sure they’ll be happy that they’re about to be fixed.
  • It’s impressive that a small country like Denmark can find the space to do community design like this.
  • If your Blackfoot needs some upkeep or you’re just interested, there’s an app for that.

Blog Posts on doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog.


#FollowFriday – October 11, 2019

https://wke.lt/w/s/7VW6s0


voicEd Radio

My on demand radio page can be found here.  

This week’s show.

https://voiced.ca/podcast_episode_post/october-9/

Intro song:

Blog posts this week came from:

  • @mcguirp
  • @TESLontario
  • @MrsRChambers
  • @ProfvocateMel
  • @mme_aston

Technology Troubleshooting

I had a couple of bad download updates this past week.

Macintosh Catalina – horribly full of bugs by reports and a few I encountered including not being able to connect to the internet with any browser except for Safari.  It was probably the only one that Apple tested.  So, I had to use Safari which reminded me of how much I detest using it.

Still waiting for an upgrade.

Chrome OS 78 – After a run of good luck with Chrome OS, a problem returned.  When I would close the lid of my Chromebook, periodically the operating system would crash.  The irony was that when I tried to report the problem, the reporting feature would crash the browser.

Updated this morning and it seems to be working well again.


Video of the Week

Is there a better ballad?


Photo of the Week

The Big Dog from the Cowbell Brewery in Blyth.  Best hot dog I’ve had in a long time and the only one I can ever remember eating with a knife and fork.

hotdog

Thanks for reading. Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2019-10-13”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2019-10-13 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  2. […] Sunday – My Week Ending October 13, 2019 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.