doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2022-03-20

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • VPNs provide a solution to Russians who want to get onto their favourite networks currently banned
  • Imagine a world or at least our province if these protestors won in 1946

Monday

  • Toronto Maple Leaf fans make the trek to Hamilton to freeze their butts but watch the outdoor game against Buffalo
  • A suggestion about using web apps instead of Android apps – hint, it saves space

Tuesday

  • Free calls to Ukraine courtesy of Microsoft
  • News about the changeback at Twitter in terms of their timeline experiment. I know at least one happy person as a result

Wednesday

  • Here’s a look back to the 90s if you’re interested in original websites that are still around
  • A list of alternatives to Google Chrome if you’re looking for a new browser to try out on your computer

Thursday

  • I actually looked carefully at the McLaren cars yesterday to see the new Google Chrome branded wheels
  • Some tips that you might find helpful in speeding up your home internet. I always work my way through posts like this

Friday

  • Another list I didn’t make – the 10 richest people in the world. I suspect that I’m well down the list
  • The title of this article has a double negative which means that it probably went over many people’s heads

Saturday

  • I totally get how an alternative to the 401 to get into Toronto is needed but is the proposed Highway 413 the answer? Not everyone thinks so
  • An argument that claims that Chrome OS is the best Linux distribution and could replace Microsoft Windows

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – March 18, 2022

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

https://wke.lt/w/s/R0Ue0c


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a blog post/show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers. Stephen Hurley and I use their writing as the basis for a conversation.

Featured Bloggers:

  • Marie Snyder – @MarieSnyder27
  • Melanie White – @WhiteRoomRadio
  • Amanda Potts – @Ahpotts
  • Lisa Corbett – @LisaCorbett0261
  • Gary Stewart
  • Amy Bowker – @amyebowker
  • David Garlick – @garlickd13

This week’s show:

There was no show this week. The previous Wednesday’s show… We’ll be back this week.

https://voiced.ca/podcast_episode_post/signs-of-spring-september-thinking-leadership-portfolios-and-more/

Opening Song:

Closing Song:

All of the shows are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 8:45 on voicEd Radio and is downloadable as a podcast later.


Technology Troubleshooting

I have this issue with Twitter on my Chromebook. For the most part, things are working well but there’s a problem with the text being pixelated in the overlay windows. Replies, Messages.

It doesn’t hurt the functionality but it is annoying. I’ve tried everything I can think of; the best suggestion, it seemed, was to turn off hardware acceleration. That didn’t work. I can run Opera or Vivaldi on the Android side and it works fine.

I thought that maybe it was an extension that was interfering but I’ve tried Chrome with no extensions with no success.

My solution is one of:

  • suck it up
  • magnify the screen size to 150% and the problem goes away

Neither are really attractive and so I continue to search for a solution.


Look what I made

With all the Wordle craze, I of course blogged about it earlier but also created a Wakelet of all the Wordle clones I could find. Once created, I’ve been adding to it daily, it seems. I guess it’s presumptuous to think I could do it all in one session. It certainly has taken the online world by storm

My collection is available here: https://wke.lt/w/s/BuvP40

Update – March 20: Up to 44 entries.


Video of the Week

Now I know…


Photo of the Week

Oh, to have a good camera instead of my phone. Here’s a brilliant red sun rising. All winter, the sun rises to the right of this road; now that it’s spring, it’s rising on the left

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2022-03-20”

  1. […] Sunday – My Week Ending March 20, 2022 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.