doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


This Week in Ontario Edublogs

This Wednesday’s show was extra special. We had a guest chatting up the posts along with Stephen and me before. Our guest this week, Vicky Loras, also got to pick the Ontario Edubloggers that she wanted to talk about. It was fun. Stephen noted that we had a whack of listeners from Europe checking in as well. Vicky’s notoriety was obvious!


My PhD Bookstack: Indigenous Resources

For courtesy, when you have a guest host, it’s only polite to let them chat about their own writing. Vicky had identified this as an important post for her.

It was good because I had a number of questions for her:

  • Do you have more titles that you’ve researched than are in the post
  • Is it a sign of the times that someone living in Switzerland could make the connection to Canadian variations on a language?
  • How do you find a mentor for any Ph.D. and, specifically, how do you find one in Switzerland about this topic? Her response was awesome
  • I didn’t get a chance to ask just how would you find resources this specific in a foreign country. I could kick myself about his

An Upside To Covering Classes

For me, this was the dreaded thing about checking my mailbox – those yellow sheets that indicated that I had an on-call and had to take over a class for someone else. Depending upon the class and the content, the best that I could hope to do is keep everyone in the classroom!

If there was one neat thing, it was to see my students in another setting. It’s surprising how different they can be.

In typical Aviva fashion, she gives us the details and looks for the pot at the end of the covering class rainbow. Her regular routine has a positive spillover when covering a class happens.

  • learn the names of the students.
  • find out about things that matter to the students and staff.
  • start to observe reading, writing, and oral language behaviours in action.
  • have longer conversations with staff members to find out more about program decisions and ideal supports.
  • teach and learn alongside the students, but also, alongside my colleague

If you have to do it, and every student needs to be supervised, you might as well find the best of it.


Slice of Life

On any other week, I probably wouldn’t have included Lisa’s blog post. But, with Vicky in on the conversation, I actually thought that it was really important. Both of them are doing some heavy-duty academic work so how does that fit into things.

Lisa shared her work and I totally got where she was coming from. In addition to everything else, it was progress report time and we all know what that means.

I thought it really interesting and insightful that she could talk about the difference between academic and casual writing.

“My point, however, is that I am having a hard time writing a casual slice of life because my brain is so solidly in academic writing mode.”

I’m glad that she has a devotion to blogging and most definitely she has a follower in Vicky.


Refocus on Planning and Partnering

Diana is so dedicated to her blog.

I could set my clock and calendar by her devotion and dedication. I get the announcement of a post right on time every Monday morning.

In the post, she talks about her assignment of co-teaching and the details

  • Grade 6 Social Studies with Connie Chan
  • Grade 3-4 Language with Brenda Kim
  • Grade 7-8 Geography with Farah Wadia

I can’t imagine the preparation that goes into something so wide and so deep. Diana gives us a taste and, certainly, as she does, there are lots of great pictures.

In true Media Literacy importance, she provides pictures of the process and the product and not of the students that actually did the work. There’s a lesson there for so many.


Curating a Student-Driven Holocaust Exhibit By Noa Daniel

I thoroughly enjoyed this podcast with Noa, Rob Flossman and four students. This was an important project that generated a great deal of outside interest.

Imagine a project like this that’s now totaling 1300-1440 artifacts!

I was riveted to the show from beginning to end. It is always awesome when a student can speak so eloquently about what’s going on.

Noa has years of experience in podcasting and her style comes through nicely once again. She is cognizant of the time constraints and all her works fall together without a sense that something was cut or that there was filler to be added to reach the mark.


Please take the time to click through and enjoy the content. Vicky chose wisely.

Then, follow these people on Twitter.

  • Vicky Loras – @vickyloras
  • Aviva Dunsiger – @avivaloca
  • Lisa Corbett – @LisaCorbett0261
  • Diana Maliszewski – @MzMollyTL
  • Noa Daniel – @iamnoadaniel

This Week in Ontario Edublogs

https://www.spreaker.com/user/voicedradio/planning-partnering-phds-and-more



2 responses to “This Week in Ontario Edublogs”

  1. Thanks Doug and Vicky for including my post in here! It’s always interesting to hear what others think about your posts and how they connect to them. Many of the blogs that I read and reflect on now, I do thanks to you and these Friday posts.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. […] Friday – This Week in Ontario Edublogs […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.