doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Whatever happened to …

… caramel apples?

Another Hallowe’en has come and gone. We get no visitors where we live so we did create a bag of goodies for the little girl around the corner who waves at Jaimie and me and brightens our morning walks.

We dropped it off and then headed off to Kingsville to walk around with kids in a busy subdivision. Busy, it was. This was a lot of fun. When we got back home after wearing out the kids, we dumped their bags to see what kind of goodies they got.

Secretly, I was hoping to find a caramel apple. Just like the ones my mom used to make.

Now, we’re not talking candy apples. You see them typically at fairs and they’re a bright red coating wrapped on an apple inside a plastic wrap. I’m not a real fan of them.

But, I love caramel. You used to be able to buy kits, melt the caramel over slow heat on the stove and then dip apples into it. In my childhood, they were Macintosh apples. In the fall, those apples were everywhere. They ended up having a double-sweet taste. To be honest, if I was making one now, I’d use a Granny Smith apple to get that influx of sour taste mixed with caramel. That would be awesome.

Photo by Henry Becerra on Unsplash

Caramel apples were rare but you’d find them periodically in my childhood walks through the neighbourhood on Hallowe’ens. This was at a time when everyone was afraid of razor blades stuck inside apples. It would be tough to get away with in a small town but people that put the time and effort into making them would include their name and telephone number inside the wrapping to let you know that it was legitimate.

Sadly, there were no caramel apples to be found this year. Quite frankly, all that was there and there certainly was a lot were commercially wrapped small chocolate treats. Imagine all the paper waste that was created for all those treats that are barely half a mouthful when you check them out.

Maybe next year…

For a Sunday, your thoughts, please.

  • Have you ever had a caramel apple?
  • Your preference? Candy apple or caramel apple?
  • Do you have any leads on where to find a caramel apple kit?
  • Your preference of apple? Macintosh or Granny Smith? Or perhaps another type?
  • If you took kids trick or treating, do you check their collection when you return? Did any go missing during your inspection?
  • Was there ever a documented case of a razor blade in an apple or is this just an urban myth?
  • How many kids did you have visit your place this past Hallowe’en?

As I do every Sunday, I encourage you to share your thoughts in the comments below. I enjoy reading them.

This is a regular Sunday post on this blog. Often, it’s just a wonder or memory that might have but I always love it when people drop off ideas. I do have a Padlet created for just this purpose. You can be anonymous with your suggestions if you want.

All of the past posts can be read here.

Thanks!



4 responses to “Whatever happened to …”

  1. Doug, I do remember having a caramel apple once as a child. I love caramel, but the treat was WAY too sweet for me. You might be onto something with Granny Smith apples. I did do some looking online, and you can find kits at Walmart, Amazon, and Williams Sonoma (this one looks the best). There are also recipes online. I wonder if you’ll make some. Let us know if you do.

    With the rain this year, it was a quiet Halloween. I’m okay with that. I had enough excitement at school during the day. 🙂

    Thanks for the weekly trip down memory lane!

    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pro tip: Find a Rocky Mountain Chocolate Company store…they are in a lot of malls. They make the most amazing apples! Usually a layer of caramel, nearly always on a Granny Smith, then dipped in chocolate (milk, white, dark…your choice) and rolled in nuts, or sprinkles, or other goodies. If I remember correctly you can even customize. They are amazing!

    https://rockychoc.com/categories/apples

    I love caramel apples, but rarely go to the trouble to make them. I never buy them at grocery stores. I remember Kraft making a caramel wrap that was a flat sheet of caramel to wrap around an apple. Haven’t seen that in years!

    Like

  3. […] Whatever happened to … – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.