doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Whatever happened to…

… Consumers Distributing?

From the Padlet, this suggestion from Jennifer King.

Consumers Distributing
My brother and I loved going there with my mom! Ahhh…the smell of the newest Panasonic electronics! Flipping those page-protected pages! 

Wow, this takes me back! In the day, catalogues were the way that we ordered things from everywhere. In our small rural town, there was a Simpsons-Sears outlet but it did take a week or so from ordering to receipt of product. We could drive to Stratford and the Consumers Distributing store there. The concept was the same – you didn’t actually see the product on shelves, you filled out an order form and someone went into the back and picked up your order from inventory, if it was in stock.

The archive mentioned in the video is located here.

Later, at university, we did a spin on that. To kill time as poor university students, we’d wander the Eaton or Simpsons store to look at the product first hand. But, it always seemed to be a bit cheaper to go to Consumer Distributing (or Consumers, as we called it) in downtown Waterloo or to the Westmount mall and get it from Shop-Rite. Later, when we moved to Essex County, there was a Consumers store in the west end of Windsor. Sadly, like all good things, these stores came to an end and are not around anymore.

I’m smiling at Jennifer’s description of the protected pages in the catalogue! You would indeed flip your way through there looking at the products. I don’t recall them as being anywhere clean! Bizarrely enough, as I walked the dog and wrote this post in my head this morning, I could remember two specific products from there – my first clock radio, a Panasonic with flipcards for the digits and an RCA colour television for my parents for their 25th anniversary.

For a Sunday morning, do you have any memories of Consumers Distributing? Please share them in the comments below.

  • First, for all my English experts, have I mastered the apostrophe in these store names? I’ve seen them included but it seems to me that there isn’t any at all in any of these stores
  • Do you remember any specific purchases you made from Consumers?
  • Consumers Distributing and Shop-Rite had very distinctive colours – do you remember them?
  • Can you remember slipping and sloshing through a tile floor at Christmas time due to the heavy traffic bringing in snow and slush?
  • Like Jennifer (I’ve always loved her style), I felt Consumers was the place to go for electronic products at the time. They seemed to have a more modern and complete collection, at least in their catalogue
  • Over the past while, I think we’ve all ordered online. What would you consider today’s equivalent to Consumers Distributing?
  • Would their business model have survived in our COVID lockdown days?

As always, please dig through your memories and share some of them with us below.

If you have an idea for a future post like Jennifer did, please reach out with it to me directly or via the Padlet.



3 responses to “Whatever happened to…”

  1. Andrew Forgrave Avatar
    Andrew Forgrave

    Good morning Doug!

    YES! Consumers Distributing! I remember it well, and have fond memories of visiting the store, filling out the little paper order forms using the golf pencils, and then waiting at the counter for my item to come out from the back!

    I also recall that there was a home catalogue that you could browse before heading into the store, but of course the copy at home didn’t have the page protectors. It’s telling that Jennifer identified that very unique feature from Consumers, As it is certainly some thing that brings back the memories.

    It has probably been a couple of years now since I last visited Lea Valley, but I do believe they are the current retail outlet that comes to mind when I think about laminated catalogs, golf pencils, and the stock stored in the back behind the counter. Canadian Tire stores some automotive items in the back behind the counter, but you don’t need a golf pencil or a little order form to get those.

    My bet would be that Consumers Distributing was at the very leading edge of the Big Box/Warehouse-style store. From my memory, our store was built up near the mall, but it had its own parking lot. It was therefore separate from the downtown core, but a definitely a precursor to the stores where are you actually walk through the warehouse proper. Of course, IKEA is the original big box warehouse store, bridging the gap between the catalogue and the warehouse by providing all of those sample rooms that display the furniture in real life before you walk through the warehouse and put it on your cart yourself. I think IKEA may have little golf pencils in the kitchen design department, but for the most part, you make your own notes as you go, and then find the stuff yourself. The strategy that I have taken to in recent years is to just photograph the aisle and bin number with my phone as a way of making notes to find things. Of course, it’s been years since I have had a paper catalogue from IKEA. I have learned to browse online, and to use all of the hidden Shortcuts between the various rooms to get just what I need and out the other end of the store as quickly as possible. I remember reading once that the IKEA store layout was purposefully designed to slow you down so As to increase the likelihood that you would see more and therefore buy more. I am a slightly wiser shopper in my old age.

    Now, I really don’t remember ShopRite, but apparently they were a competitor to consumers that never reached the same stature. (I did a little bit of reading on Wikipedia to get up to speed.) as a result, I don’t know the colours for ShopRite, but I remember that there was a lot of blue for consumers distributing. Blue and gold?

    As for withstanding the whole Covid situation, no, I don’t believe Consumers would have weathered the storm. Apparently Zellers and Walmart did them in, coupled with the fact that Consumers began to have problems having items in stock. If you are a catalogue merchant that has things in stock in your local stores, then you can steal market share away from the catalogue merchants that need to order things in. If, on the other hand, you have a large browseabout department store with the stock sitting right there on the shelf for people to pick up, then you’re going to steal market share away from a catalogue store that has whatever stock that might be on hand out of sight/squirrelled away in the back. Apparently Consumers was one of the first to experiment with tracking stock across multiple stores such that they could keep track of inventory, but it was expensive to ship stock between stores rather than from a central warehouse,

    Of course, the big winner today — with and without Covid — is Amazon. They’ve basically become the seller and reseller and middleman and distributor, which means that a 1-2 day delivery from a central warehouse completely removes the need for expensive floor displays, catalogues and page protectors, golf pencils and little order forms, sales and stock people, cash registers and debit card readers, brick and mortar stores with leases, parking lot snow removal and summer air conditioning. You can run your store 24/7, without having to deal with opening hours, holidays or social distancing lineups/rules.

    Now, with regards to your question about apostrophes, there’s no apostrophe because the s denotes the plural of consumers, not the possessive. The company name refers to distributing things to consumers. The same would hold true, for example, for Shoppers Drug Mart. If the stores were owned by Consumers or Shoppers, then one would expect an apostrophe, as one sees with Wendy’s or Harvey’s or Macdonald’s. But in the case of Consumers and Shoppers, the stores are for the plural masses, and there’s no trailing apostrophe because the stores don’t belong to the plural masses.

    Thanks for this little Sunday morning trip to Consumers Distributing. Probably the last time I was in a Consumers Distributing store I ran into a friend from high school who was working there. That was a nice little memory to pop into my mind this morning.

    Like

  2. […] Sunday – Whatever happened to … ? […]

    Like

  3. […] Whatever happened to… – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.