doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2020-10-18

My apologies for this post going out at 5am this morning. It was all operator error.

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.

Sunday

  • Could Microsoft be one of the companies that’s leading the way with its plan to let people work at home permanently?
  • I think that everyone should be monitoring global maps of the Corona Virus outbreaks. No one country can solve the problem by itself.

Monday

  • I’ve just given up and don’t look at the processes running in Chromium browsers any more. I’m a coward.
  • This is great news for teachers that are using Google Meet to have online classes with students.

Tuesday

  • Apple fanboys will get excited to sell last year’s iPhone and buy this year’s. Me? Pass.
  • An interesting and timely message about the difference between how the United States and Canada select judges for the Supreme Court. Maybe if we had more drama, we’d be more interested.

Wednesday

  • OK, more Apple stuff and how one authored explained the huge price and rationalized why it’s a good idea for the HomePod Mini.
  • I guess this is one thing that we don’t have to worry about here – paying for delivery of takeout. We just go and get it.

Thursday

  • This would really have been interesting. I watched the video and Alex Trebek did indeed look lonely.
  • You’d like to think that safety would be something that would need to be done before it’s available for sale. It’s done for cars; why not for tech?

Friday

  • Of course, nothing is ever resolved in the days of COVID. Now, there’s a change in change dates in the TDSB.
  • To quote my former secretary “Someone needs to be fired.”

Saturday

  • Sadly, I don’t see a conversation with my Microsoft friends in the new future. This would be part of the discussion.
  • I’ll probably test this and write a blog post about it. I can hum a tune with the best of them.

Blog Posts on
doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – October 16, 2020

https://wke.lt/w/s/5Tv6GY


voicEd Radio

On this week’s show, Stephen Hurley and I chatted about back to educational cages, portable classrooms-not, room design, changing, and awesome Grade 7 students.

The show is available here: https://voiced.ca/podcast_episode_post/flexible-agile-and-positive/

  • Paul McGuire – @mcguirp
  • Jen Aston – @mme_aston
  • Larissa Aradj – @MrsGeekChic
  • Kelly.McLaughlin
  • Diana Maliszewski – @MzMollyTL

Intro Song:

Dedicated to the month of October

All of the podcasts are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE every Wednesday morning at 9:15 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

I’m looking forward to tomorrow.

For my birthday, my wife gave me a set of Jabra in-ear headphones. They’re perfect for dog walking and extremely well reviewed. They’re even higher rate than Apple Airpods whose claim to fame is active noise reduction. The Jabra features passive noise reduction and the reviewers rate it higher than the Apple product.

Apparently, Jabra is going to upgrade us all to active noise reduction over the air for no price. I’m excited to see if it actually makes the listening experience even better.

Fingers crossed.


Video of the Week

Recently, we lost one of the good ones.


Photo of the Week

Sometimes, you’re just in the right place at the right time.


Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



One response to “My Week Ending 2020-10-18”

  1. […] Page not found – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.