doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending April 22, 2018

=====

Readings (You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Here are a selected few from the past week.)

  1. I know that dark themes are designed to be easy on the eyes in dim light.  I like using them in bright daylight as I seem to be able to read content better there.  But, in medium light, I prefer light themes to see.  What to do?  Here are 30 Android applications with dark themes.
  2. This is another one of those posts where I can immediately put a person’s face to the descriptor.  In this case, it’s secrets of librarians.
  3. I’ll be sad if Google decided to kill off Inbox.  Earlier versions or this alternatives to Gmail didn’t work all that well for me.  With each update to Inbox though, I started to get the hang of it and the software got better.  It’s now the way that I access my Google Mail.  My wish list includes being able to use them it with a skin.  Maybe a nice dark one?
  4. Great advice here as in many things.  There are contributors and then there are people who don’t really do so.  Who would YOU hire?
  5. If you’re doing a presentation and want to talk about the jobs that our students might be getting in the future, you might find this list helpful.
  6. From the folks at Edublogs, this is an interesting and insightful list of ways that schools are using Blogs and WordPress in schools.  It seems to me that this is a really positive trend.  I’ve seen school boards get sold a bill of goods and got to alternative things and regret it.
  7. It was a bizarre event around here when an earthquake hit just a couple of roads over.  I was impressed with the amount of information that was publically available within minutes.
  8. Yes, it’s been a bizarre bit of weather recently.  Now this.  Microsoft contributing to the betterment of Google Chrome.
  9. A river street runs through it.  Even though we share the longest, friendliest border in the world with the United States, there are some interesting challenges.  In this case, the international border runs through the centre, er, center of a street.  Very interesting stories are told and you’ll want to check out Streetview for yourself.
  10. As a Computer Science person, I found this list of popular languages interesting.  I’m able to write code in a few of them but certainly not all.  It would be fun to bring it into a Computer Science classroom and write the mandatory “Hello World” program to show the differences.

=====

Blog Posts on doug … off the record

=====

voicEd Radio

My on demand page can be found here.  The latest edition features blog posts from:

=====

Technology Trouble Shooting

That stupid @ – I still don’t know why, but when I copy the Twitter names into the post above, they always appear at @.  My new approach will be to just delete the character altogether.

Theme of the Week – I finally found a theme that I think will have a little legs here for me.  It’s called “Android for Google Chrome“.  I’m not a fan of defaults.

  • I do like a dark theme and I like how the tabs are grey-ish and the active tab is black.
  • Android Green really pops with a black background.  I like it.

I just used “like” like three times.

=====

Video of the Week – How to locate an epicenter

There’s nothing like an earthquake hitting close to home to make you want to learn more about them.  Hopefully, this doesn’t generate negative opinions.

My Favourite Photo This Week
Coming down our concession road, this is what the car driver sees.
sign

But, this is what the dog walker sees.  Keep in mind that you walk facing the traffic so you see the back  of the sign.

bruce

wyandotte

I think it’s awesome that we recycle signs in this way and so timely.  What I don’t get is that Bruce Ave and Wyandotte St are in Windsor!  Did we go to an auction or something?

It’s a great couple of pictures to celebrate Earth Day though.

=====

Thanks for reading.

dp



Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.