doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2021-09-26

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.

Sunday

  • If you’re looking to walk on your holidays, here’s a top 10 list of walkable cities in Canada
  • There’s a lot of noise from Microsoft about the death of the password – probably a good move for some

Monday

  • I’ve been reading about designing the classroom of the future for years now – here’s another one
  • I wish that I would have had the nerve to write a response to these student questions

Tuesday

  • The article is probably over titled but I’m still shocked that people don’t know how to change the default search engine in their browser
  • If you are a lover of different fonts, you’ll love this collection

Wednesday

  • I find this depressing – what will it do to the future of Chromebooks which relies on an efficient browser
  • It should come as no surprise to anyone that Google leads the pack in this category of trackers

Thursday

  • There are lots of familiar software title names in this list of copycats and some have truly stood the test of time
  • Not living in an Apple world, I didn’t realize that watch faces were an issue. I have millions available for my Samsung

Friday

  • He’s a newscaster on WDIV and does a great job there but he’s also a terrific singer with a new album
  • It makes sense to me but if we won’t legislate adults, I suspect we haven’t got a prayer of legislating stuents to get vaccinated

Saturday

  • Every time I see reports like this, I get angry thinking about how someone had an operation delayed
  • When I lived in Toronto, I walked Bloor Street so many times. I had no idea about who it was named after – scary

Blog Posts on
doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – September 24, 2021

https://wke.lt/w/s/pHd5f-


voicEd Radio

There was no show on voicEd Radio this past week.

All of the shows are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 8:45 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

It was time for a small holiday for us this past week. It had been so longer, I’d forgotten how to pack a suitcase. Thank goodness for t-shirts and blue jeans. Nothing fancy to get crinkled.

The one thing that I forgot to back though was a power bar! I had the cables for the necessities but finding enough outlets in your bedroom can be a challenge. They had to take turns getting charged.


Video of the Week

A fascinating tourist stop and I got to traverse it at night which made all the lighting extra special.


Photo of the Week

It was the Uncommon Festival in town this weekend and we had a dragon visit us.

Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



One response to “My Week Ending 2021-09-26”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2021-09-26 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.