doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Don’t use that tone with me

I have a love/hate relationship with digital writing tools.

I’ll try one for a while and then drop it any of a number of reasons. But, the number one reason is that it would attempt to make suggestions for “improvement” that I don’t agree with.

Consequently, that’s why you’ll find the occasional (grin) spelling error or subject/verb agreement. I do cross my fingers and hope that they’re/there/their is used properly. (Try typing with your fingers crossed) I’m not naive enough to say that I’m perfect every time but I try and I appreciate it when my human online editors point out errors for me. I haven’t heard any suggestions for a while so maybe I’m getting better.

Probably the one utility in this genre that most people know about is Grammarly. Not to be confused with Grammerly. <grin> It’s easily installed as an extension to Chrome or Firefox.

Recently, Grammarly added a new feature. It will now offer advice and information about the tone of your writing.

It’s an interesting concept. Does my writing convey a tone that I don’t like? I know that I will try for a certain tone at times but maybe it doesn’t work or I’m out on a limb with my thoughts?

I’ll give it a try and see.

What about you? Could you see the need for a tone detector in your future?

As for this post …



4 responses to “Don’t use that tone with me”

  1. The tone component is an interesting one, Doug! I often read my blog posts and try to determine the tone before I press publish. This could help. I wonder how the online tool would compare to my own ideas. I may just need to try this and find out.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. […] Don’t use that tone with me – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  3. I need a verbal tone detector…..according to some people in my family, my tone often conveys a message I don’t mean to send. I expect that software is somewhere down the road….

    Like

  4. […] Saturday – Don’t use that tone with me […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.