doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


I wish I’d done this sooner

In my weekly post, “My Week Ending…“, I like to include a photo of something that I’ve taken from the previous week.

There was a time when I’d put my original camera around my neck and go looking for things to take pictures of. It worked really well if I was lucky enough to find something worth snapping. Now, with the camera in my Smartphone, I always have the ability to take pictures in my pocket. It’s funny how many more pictures that I feel inspired to take this way. And better ones too.

Anyway, last week I was rolling up the solar blanket to the pool and noticed a spider in this huge web over my shoulder. I watched for a minute until I realized what she/he was doing. The spider was traversing the web picking up the things that got caught during the night before. My mind flashed back to elementary school science where we learned how a spider doesn’t get stuck in its own web.

I was pleased with the picture as I got as close as I could to get a definition of the spider and the things caught in the web. As per my regular routine, I took 2 or 3 pictures of the same thing so that I could get the best picture lest I move the camera while taking the picture.

Anyway, that’s the background for this post!

When I write my Sunday post, my routine was to grab the camera on my desk and flip through what I had taken and find one to include. Then, I would email or DM it to myself so that I could put it into the post. Since it’s only a task that I do once or twice a week, the inefficiencies kind of bothered me but not enough to do anything about it.

However, in my readings lately on Windows 10, I’ve been reading about the Your Phone abilities. For the most part, the writers were excited about the concept of texting from your computer keyboard. I wasn’t as excited. Could there be more?

Out of boredom, I installed this on my phone and activated the utility on my computer. Unlike other synchronization things I’ve used, this really was seemless and easy. Almost too easy, it seemed. The menu revealed what was available.

And, sure enough, there were my spider pictures. (As well as the thunderstorm clouds coming in from Boblo Island)

To work on the post, there was none of this sending the picture to myself. I just grabbed it from the Your Phone app and bam, it was in my post.

I remember Arthur C. Clarke’s quote…

Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

I had that moment!

I just wish that I’d done it sooner.



2 responses to “I wish I’d done this sooner”

  1. […] I wish I’d done this sooner – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  2. […] Monday –  I wish I’d done this sooner […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.