doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2021-01-03

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week. It’s pretty slim since I’ve been taking a couple of weeks away from the keyboard. Fortunately, my daily automated OTR links post covered for me.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.

Sunday

  • I thought that this was a fun post about a transplanted American who eventually accepted home in Canada. I laughed out loud at the ice skate story
  • There have been many ways to picture 2020 – this collection of pictures of Justin Trudeau is an interesting perspective

Monday

  • I doubt that anyone is naive enough to think that cheating won’t happen at home at least as much as face to face at school. Certainly, it’s garnered a lot of though at post-secondary but how about secondary?
  • For the technology literate, this is probably old news but worth reviewing if you have any money in your bank account

Tuesday

  • Roku is the winner in this evaluation. My television actually has a whack of services built into it but Roku and Gem are two that aren’t there
  • I find it amazing that in our current lifetime and reality and level of understanding of our past that this is still allowed to happen

Wednesday

  • Being it’s me, I will try this out and probably blog about it but I’m quite happy navigating Windows the way I do now. I just pin the apps I use to the taskbar and have it on the left of the screen
  • This is why you should be friends with me and I friends with you – until you upset me and that does happen

Thursday

  • Maybe you do it for fun but in a computer studies class, it’s an interesting demo to show how far we’ve come. Last time I truly understood computers though was in the time of DOS
  • Absolutely every parent will love this collection of comics – grandparents too – maybe even elementary school teachers

Friday

  • This would be my biggest fear about outside of Canada travel but that doesn’t stop others, including politicians who lead from their sunny destinations
  • Quite honestly, I’d forgotten about Voyager 2 but apparently, it’s still hard at work

Saturday

  • I thought that Steve Paikin wrote a very well thought out and down to earth piece about Rod Phillips decision to vacation outside of Canada
  • Yet another lesson to be learned from COVID. I would be guilty – my mom always sent us to school with minor symptoms and I would go into work as well

Blog Posts on
doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – December 18, 2020

(Actually last week’s collection of great Ontario Educators)

https://wke.lt/w/s/z8pEId


voicEd Radio

There was no show this week.

All of the podcasts are archived here. The show is broadcast LIVE almost every Wednesday morning at 9:15 on voicEd Radio.


Technology Troubleshooting

As announced last week, I’m going to take a little break from blogging. The routine that I follow to write something every day is nice but there are times when I feel like I have a gun to my head.

I should be back in the new year. Or next Friday.


Video of the Week


Photo of the Week

It’s still a great picture of Jaimie. Happy New Year!


Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



One response to “My Week Ending 2021-01-03”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2021-01-03 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.