doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2019-12-01

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.

  • I think that I lived through most of these changes to Windows over the past while. As noted in the title, some are good and some are bad.
  • Apparently, there’s now a guy in Winnipeg who can wear pants again. I can’t imagine wearing shorts there in the winter. (or here either, for that matter)
  • This is such a scary story to read. It’s not like Orangeville is the sort of place that you would expect violence. So, if it’s happening there, what’s it like in your school?
  • Cyber security is something that I read so much about and yet I don’t feel like I have a grip on what it meant years ago never mind 2020.
  • Actually, I find it good advice to stay away from most stores during Black Friday or at least do your research. Often, they’re just clearing out stuff they couldn’t sell otherwise.
  • Everyone should spend time learning shortcuts because you just become so much more productive when you do. These are for Google Chrome.
  • Great news! If you have enough money, you too can get to play football on American Thanksgiving. I do miss John Madden and Pat Summerall.
  • Tips and tricks for the stalker in you. It seems to me that you should be able to find people who want to be found pretty easily. Others might take a bit of effort.
  • Well, it appears that OSSTF blinked first. Walkout next Wednesday. Will this action effectively get a collective agreement quickly?
  • I love video tours or photos of great libraries. Here are seven of the best in Ontario.
  • Good on these Nunavut students. But, it’s sad. Students should always be there to review any changes to the education system. I’ll bet they have more productive and progressive ideas about history and technology and pedagogy and mathematics and …
  • Of course, we’re a safe country. But, here’s a list of the safest of the safest communities. We used to be at the top of the list and had a sign you’d see when driving into town to prove it. I wonder what happened.
  • Is it really sad that a shopping mall has to fire their Santa Claus? I wonder what’s in the closets of the people that actually did the firing.
  • If the CEO of Twitter uses DuckDuckGo, why aren’t you? I’d like to know how frequently he uses the Twitter search engine.

Blog Posts on doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog.


#FollowFriday – November 29, 2019

https://wke.lt/w/s/Q4m5a4


voicEd Radio

My on demand radio page can be found here.  

This week’s show – https://voiced.ca/podcast_episode_post/november-27/

Intro song:

Blog posts this week came from:

  • @SheilaSpeaking
  • @mr_robcannone
  • @THOMLYNN101
  • @staoapso
  • @Bigideasinedu

Technology Troubleshooting

Christmas trees are a technology, aren’t they?

Or maybe our solution is.

One of the challenges that you have when you have a male dog is his natural desire to “mark” everything. We learned when he was a puppy that that included the family Christmas tree.

So, a few years ago, we bought a can of sour apple spray. That solved the problem then. We still have that can and still use it annually – just in case.

The spray has long since lost its scent but it still works. Or he remembers it and avoids it. Or, he’s just got older and wiser.

Bottom line, there haven’t been any issues yet this year. We’re all happy.


Video of the Week

I miss John Madden on television. He really shone during the broadcasts on the American Thanksgiving.


Photo of the Week

Happy Holidays from my walking partner and me.

Thanks for reading. Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



One response to “My Week Ending 2019-12-01”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2019-12-01 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.