doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending November 25, 2018

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

(You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Here are a selected few from the past week.)

  • It’s no surprise that Mickey Mouse has been around for 90 years.  In my life, he’s always been there.
  • I think that most people like it when their job is poked fun at.  (Is that a sentence?)  In this case, it’s the librarian.
  • If you don’t like the current incarnation of Gmail, here are some tips to return it to a previous functionality.  What’s next?  Inbox?
  • The challenge is here, United States.  How about putting Rosa Parks on your currency
  • Here’s a real tribute to Waze.  Honestly, I would have thought that its functionality would have been incorporated into Google Maps by now and then be retired.
  • If you’ve ever been intrigued by a MOOC, this article will give you pause for thought – does the MOOC do everything that it purports to or is it just a loss leader to get you to pay for the real course?
  • I need to up my blogging / writing game and use these words, I guess.  And here, I was spending my time on new topics and speaking like the plain folk I am.
  • I believe that this is one of the best things that you can do to speed up any Windows computer.  That is, short of putting Linux on it.
  • I think this is a discussion that every school needs to have.  Everyone needs to be able to express themselves creatively.
  • This is the nicest utility that I’ve found in quite a while.  It helps put technology into perspective.
  • Vivaldi has had this feature for a while.  It will be good to see it come to Chrome.  Unless you only use one tab when you’re browsing.  And you call yourself a computer user!
  • The price.
  • I never saw the original Lion King but my kids did and loved it.  Maybe this time, I’ll make the trek to the theatre.

Blog Posts on doug … off the record


voicEd Radio

My on demand radio page can be found here.  The latest edition features blog posts from:


Technology Trouble Shooting 

I was doing some cleaning up this week and found a computer!  It was an old, really old, Macintosh Mini.  I had bought it for the kids when they were in high school.

I plugged it in and then wondered about a monitor.  I looked at the back and, yep, it’s pure Apple.  A unique video out.  I was planning to connect it to my external monitor but there’s no way that the connectors would make a connection.

In an act of desperation, I looked into my Apple bag.

I must be living the good life.  I did have the needed adapter.  Now, what device needs to be unplugged so that I have electricity for this.  Got it.  Power up.  It didn’t care about a lack of keyboard but it wanted a mouse.

OS?  10.4.11

Do I want to upgrade?  Maybe on November 30 if I have data left on my internet account.

Processor?  1.42 Gnz PowerPC G4

Memory?  512 MB

Storage?  80 GB

Time and Date are well out of date.

The whole family is on the list to log in.  Including me.  Password, password, hmmmm.  Son of a gun.  I got it first time.

Things actually work.  Do you Macintosh users remember the rollover blue buttons from that OS era?

What will I use it for?  Perhaps a coaster for my coffee mug?  Anyone want to make me an offer?


Video of the Week


My Favourite Photo of the Week

Proof

 

2018-11-25_0717

Thanks for reading.

dp



Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.