Rock And Roll Never Forgets

So you’re a little bit older and a lot less bolder
Than you used to be
So you used to shake ’em down
But now you stop and think about your dignity
So now sweet sixteens turned thirty-one
You get to feelin’ weary when the work days done
Well all you got to do is get up and into your kicks
If you’re in a fix
Come back baby
Rock and roll never forgets

– Bob Seger – Rock And Roll Never Forgets

How’s that for a blast from the past?

A friend of mine shared this with me and I’ve been chewing up the bandwidth ever since.

It’s called the Nostalgia Machine and takes you on a musical memory throughout the years.

It was a nice memory for me of listening to the radio – even as a youth, there was only one station.  CKLW!  It has changed its format over the years but it was on everyone’s car radio presets!

How about 1979?

It just reaffirms – today’s music doesn’t hold up to the classics.  Don’t even think about calling them the oldies!

If you’re looking for some memories, head over and enjoy a selection of music from 1960-2013.

Me, I may just kick back and play my copy of Night Moves from beginning to end.

5 thoughts on “Rock And Roll Never Forgets

  1. Dear Doug,

    Another awesome post! I love the Nostalgia Machine!

    For those who know me well, they say I’m an old soul because I only listen to music from the 60s, 70s and especially the 80s (Duran Duran are my all-time favourite band…still waiting for them to come to Switzerland!). I rarely like something from today (sorry to say).

    I am thrilled you chose 1979 because that is when I was born! I went on there to see Billy Joel (I LOVE his music),Donna Summer, the BeeGees, love them all! And The Gambler came out that year – it is my favourite Kenny Rogers song!

    Thank you so so much for sharing this, Doug. I know how I’ll spend a huge part of today ; )

    Like

  2. Brenda – that makes you just a teeny bit older than me, ’cause 84 was Grade 12 and 13, and my summer in Germany – that was a GREAT musical year. I have to admit to Vicky, though, that listening to CBC Radio 2 has restored my faith in modern music. I’m loving the 60’s/70’s retro vibe of bands like Lake Street Dive and Anderson East. Thanks Doug for the fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

