doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Cheaper Than a Psychologist

As more people turn to social media to get their message out, emotions flow as well.

It can come through in the messages that you share as well.

I just finished my morning read through my Flipboard account and thought that the time might be right to have my Twitter messages that I just shared analysed.  The utility “Analyze Words” is here to do the heavy lifting for me.

It’s just a matter of visiting the site and enter your Twitter ID and let it do its thing.  Here’s my current analysis.

I’ve been playing around with this for a while and it’s interesting to see how the results change depending upon the time of day, what I’m reading and sharing, and how I interact with others.  I just counted and read/shared about 20 news stories to my timeline so, presumably, the analysis comes from that.  Normally, my arrogance score is much higher.  <grin>

Even more important than the “what” is the “how” and the page devoted to the Science behind the site is interesting reading.

Hopefully you’re still here and haven’t run out to test yourself just yet.  Like all testing data, the results are from a moment in time.  Repeated application should provide more reasoned results.  I can’t help but think that, if you have a classroom Twitter account, this would be a very interesting way to analyse class conversations and to improve the use of Twitter as a reporting / annotation tool.

In the meantime, enjoy analysing yourself and you just know that you’re going to check out your friends and colleagues….

It’s so much cheaper than a session on the couch.



4 responses to “Cheaper Than a Psychologist”

  1. My arrogance score is higher than yours. Not sure I’m happy about that. I don’t like to think of myself as arrogant.

    Like

  2. I would NEVER describe you as arrogant!!

    Like

    1. I’m always on the best behaviour around you Alison.

      Like

  3. […] Cheaper Than a Psychologist | doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.