doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Kids these days

It’s not uncommon during our dog walks for me to wear my ear bugs and sing along to some of my favourites. I’m so fortunate to have lived in the great era of music and a subset is on my iPod. As I was listening the other day, I realized that there are references in some of the music that today’s kids would have no concept of.

That’s the inspiration behind today’s post. I’ll pull the song from YouTube and you get a chance to determine what it is. Don’t worry; it’s a little obscure, I’ll provide the answers below and with a little work, you can get it.

As always, I’m not egotistical enough to think I’ve got them all so please feel free to add ones that I’ve missed.

Answers provided by the timeline

  • Sylvia’s Mother – 0:35
  • Straight Tequilla Night – 0:19
  • 409 – 0:04 (and repeated so so many times)
  • Blinded by the light – 0:22
  • Penny Lane – 0:55
  • Suds in the bucket – 2:00 and 2:42
  • Big Yellow Taxi – 1:02
  • House of the Risin’ Sun – 3:35
  • The End Of The Innocence – 1:56
  • Old Time Rock n Roll – 0:06

Bonus

With so much electronic music, would they recognize the unique instruments in these songs?



4 responses to “Kids these days”

  1. My iPod reads this blog! It offered up this song this morning. I can’t believe I didn’t think of it when writing the post. So many references to point to just one.

    Like

  2. This looks like a fun game to play .. will check them all out and will send along any I come up with.

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.