doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


10 years ago

Wow, this blog is really old!

For yucks, and I didn’t know what to expect, I turned the clock back to see what I was talking about 10 years ago. I can’t remember for sure but I’d bet real money that it wasn’t raining with a forecasted high of 11 degrees.

On December 30, 2009

I had a post about Digital Footprints and, of course, my collection of OTR Links

Well, I figured, I must have said something about the new year on December 31. I was wrong.

Apparently, we were gearing up for a Blue moon.

While looking back, it was interesting to see what my personal state of blogging was like. I do like the fact that I was blogging regularly. There’s just something empowering about sitting down and hashing out a few words and thoughts.

Looking at the post brought back a bit of technology memories as well. 10 years ago, I recall that the WordPress editor wasn’t the powerful tool that it is today. I was using a web browser application called Scribefire for my editor. It appears to still be available for Chrome but I couldn’t fire a Firefox version. The new block editor currently suits my needs fine. Scribefire, I recall, was nice in the fact that its interface was similar to OpenOffice / Microsoft Word.

In addition, there was a whole collection of social media sharing links at the bottom of the post. I guess that it was important to me at the time that my thoughts were shared on a number of different platforms. I don’t do that anymore; in fact, mousing over the icons brought back memories of some other platforms.

How many of those can you identify by icon?

The nice thing, for consistency purposes, is that the current theme that I’m using is applied to that content. I know that I wasn’t using this one back then. Heck, I wasn’t even using it one year ago.

I suppose the bigger question will be – will this blog still be around 10 years from now? Will I be curious to look back as we head into 2030 to see what I was writing about? Will blogging even be a thing then?

Stay tuned.



4 responses to “10 years ago”

  1. Doug, I really hope that blogging continues to be a “thing.” I love your daily reflections and look forward to starting my day reading them. I also love taking to my blog as a way to make sense of my thoughts. Blogging is an important way that I self-regulate. Wonder how many other regular bloggers feel the same.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. I’ve been blogging for 13 years. I can’t imagine not blogging. I should revisit some early posts this week! I started my blog in January 2007, so I guess that’s a good place to start.

    Like

  3. […] 10 years ago – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.