doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Whatever happened to …

… dry-cleaning?

Thanks to Sheila Stewart for the inspiration for this. She recently sent me this story.

Thunder Bay’s only personal dry cleaner remains closed as owner waits for someone to step in and run it

I know that, in our town, there used to be a dry cleaner but it’s gone now. Every now and again when the timing is right, Jaimie and I will see a van with a dry cleaner logo on it headed from town into Windsor. Apparently, you can drop them off but your clothes go for a ride to be cleaned and returned.

Of course, this calls for a song and a picture.

I call this “A thorn between two roses”. In truth, it’s one Rose and an Anne Marie at a Regional Computer Advisory Committee Symposium event at the Lamplighter Inn in London.

And that got me thinking. I still have that sports jacket and tie. The tie was purchased to support the Save The Children foundation.

Students from many years ago would be accustomed to me wearing a sports jacket and wool dress pants to work every day. After all, every male teacher that I had in school dressed that way. That’s just what you did.

The realities of the classroom though take their toll. My room had shag carpeting which made for static electricity every day of winter, I used chalk like crazy and had this really bad habit of leaning against the chalkboard. It was nothing for someone visiting the classroom to see a student smacking me on the back to get rid of the dust. At least, that’s why I thought they were hitting me.

The net result though was that the jacket and pants would have to be dry-cleaned regularly and I swear I kept the local business in operation.

Thankfully, times changed and I replaced the wool pants with Dockers or the like and got comfortable either not wearing the jacket or putting it on the back of my chair when in that classroom.

As I mentioned, I do still have that jacket and another brown one that are reserved for formal occasions like pictures with two good friends or going to celebrations of life.

I did manage to save money once the regular dry cleaning stopped. I suspect I’m not the only one as I think about the garments being shipped to Windsor for cleaning.

I had my wife proofread this and her permission to quote

“dry-cleaning is a thing of the past; none of the people I know would ever buy anything that needs dry-cleaning”

I do remember that she had her wedding gown dry-cleaned and put inside a bag and I’m sure that it’s around here somewhere. I just found out that parts of it are around here. Parts were cut from it for my daughter’s wedding bouquet. Why am I just finding out about this now?

For a Sunday morning, your thoughts?

  • do you have garments in your wardrobe that need regular dry-cleaning? Sheila has some cleaning tips and I hope she shares them in a comment
  • when you started your teaching career, did you dress like the teachers who taught you?
  • there really is something special about picking up dry cleaning as it came back in its own plastic covering. I always wondered why. Do you know?
  • did you move away from dry-cleanables? What did you do instead?
  • is it safe to smell freshly dry-cleaned clothes or is that an old wife’s tale?
  • does your community have a dry-cleaning service? When did you last use it?
  • if your community doesn’t have a service, what do you do with your dry-cleanables?
  • do you still have your wedding dress?

Please share your thoughts in the comments below.

If you have an idea for a future post here, please reach out to me like Sheila did.

This is a regular Sunday morning post around here. You can check out all the Whatever Happened To posts here.



5 responses to “Whatever happened to …”

  1. Doug, there are actually a lot of dry cleaners around here. While there are some independent shops, just about every big grocery store also has a dry cleaner. When I started teaching, my skirts and pants all needed to be dry cleaned. Now, I agree with your wife: I will not buy anything that I can’t wash. 🙂 Thanks for the trip down memory lane. I hope others share their dry cleaning stories.

    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Early in my career many of my clothes I wore to school needed to be dry cleaned. As the years went on fabrics changed and I think the need for some of the formality changed. I sometimes wonder if with some people, attitudes are too relaxed now as every day can look like casual Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have to attend a function this coming weekend and you’ve reminded me I have to get my suit dry-cleaned. Come to think of it, I don’t even know where there’s a dry-cleaner anymore! A quick Google search of course remedied that….that are two near me.

    Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  4. We have a dry cleaner about a mile away from us. My wife has a couple of things she prefers to be drycleaned. They also do washing, I think. For me it was a place that cleaned and ironed shirts. My mother-in-law used to iron all my shirts. When she passed away the shirts piled up for about a month (I have far too many shirts) because neither my wife nor I really wanted to iron.
    Finally, I broke down and started taking my school/work shirts to the cleaners. Since I retired I’ve been saving money as I only wear shirts that don’t really have to be ironed. OK, some of them would look better if they were ironed but it is not like people are paying the sort of attention one gets at work.
    FWIW when I was teaching it was shirt and tie every day with nice pants. Jacket at one point I think. When the male students had to wear jackets I did as well. I tried to dress closely to the male student dress code. I felt like that was the respectable thing to do. I limited myself to solid blue and white shirts as that was the boy’s limits even though as a teacher I could wear more variety. Those shirts are now hanging in my closet in the bags they came home from the cleaners almost three years ago.

    Like

  5. Thanks for exploring this important topic! 😀
    A “dryclean only” label does not deter me much from purchasing. A gentle machine wash cycle-reduced spin cycle-short air fluff in the dryer- hang to dry routine seems to work just fine for many “dryclean only” garments that I have. Some new dryers have a steam clean setting that could be an alternative to drycleaning, but I doubt I would bother with such. The challenge is my husband’s suit jacket (retired so only one now). Luckily he had it cleaned after our daughter’s wedding before our local drycleaning shut down.
    I still have my wedding dress preserved in a nice display box.
    Dry clean, dryclean, or dry-clean? haha
    Let you know if the service returns T Bay!

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.