doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Common sense comes to the computer industry

I’d bet real money that anyone who follows me because of computer technology let out a little bit of applause over the decision in the European Union about technology. This morning, I read this article.

Say goodbye to Apple’s Lightning chargers

We all know that Apple’s Lightning chargers have become the bane of creatives’ lives. The pesky cords only work on Apple products and so it means that for a lot of us, we have to carry a bag full of wires around to make sure we never lose juice. But the EU is putting its foot down. 

I actually have a couple of bags of cables to throw in my computer bag when I go somewhere. Heaven knows that I’d hate to lost the opportunity to be connected.

One of my favourite conversations in technology was talking with David Warlick when I had engaged him to speak as a keynote speaker at the Western Regional Computer Advisory Committee’s Symposium conference in London. David is from North Carolina and he wanted to make sure that things would go seemlessly.

“What kind of electricity do you have in Canada?”

It struck me as kind of funny but when you think about it, if you want to make sure that you’re going to have few problems, you want to cover all the bases. After a bit of back and forth, we came to the mutual conclusion that he was concerned about electrical connectors and that there were going to be no problems. I still remember a good friend telling me that I should have pulled out the oven and taken a picture of that outlet!

But seriously, this is a problem that we as a society had allowed to get out of control and individual companies have done what they want. Apple has always been the worst. My Bose Sounddock, for example, won’t hold my newest iPod because it requires a Lightning connector.

I’ll bet you’re like me and have cables running all over the place and likely going into a power strip or surge protector.

I am pleased that USB-C will be the connector of choice. As I think of my technology, that would be the most common connector. It really would be nice to just have one cable and charge whatever needs to be charged with that everywhere we happen to go.

Kudos to the European Union for this decision. Hopefully, the implementation works out for this side of the Atlantic and companies don’t have different standards around the world. That would be so nice.

Now, let’s work on making charging in our cars simpler as well.



4 responses to “Common sense comes to the computer industry”

  1. Good morning Doug!

    I’m sure that you, as I, have experienced many different cable connecters over the course of your education/tech career. I remember the time when I sent off my parallel and SCSI cables to the e-waste around a decade ago. It had been quite a while since I had used them at that point, and I was getting rid of the corresponding computers as well.

    The original 30-pin Apple connecter came at a time when mini and micro USB were the alternative. Recall that one of the original technologies supported by the 30-pin Apple connecter was Firewire, enabling a much faster transfer than the existing USB at the time. With Apple’s move to the reversible 8-pin lightning connector a decade ago, they resolved the “50% of the time you’re inserting it wrong” issue that existed then with USB. That, cumulatively, has saved people a lot of time and micro-frustration.

    The argument that moving to a standard USB-C connecter will solve everyone’s cable problems is a bit misleading. The connecter itself alone does not determine what the cable can do. There are now multiple standards using the USB-C connector, including Thunderbolt 3 and Thunderbolt 4, and now USB-4.0, and so just because a device accepts a USB-C connector, it doesn’t mean the cable will charge it properly or transfer data at the expected speed. It will be interesting to see how this evolves over the coming years. At some point, the USB-C cable connecter will be replaced with something else. Just a heads up.

    I’ve just done a look into your BOSE sound dock on both Amazon and Kijiji. There are a number of options you may wish to consider.
    1) There are multiple 30 pin to Bluetooth adaptors available on Amazon for $25-$30 that will let you continue to use your sound dock via Bluetooth – with ANY Bluetooth-enabled device (Apple or otherwise) as a source. That might be your best option, especially if you wanted to use it with your phone.
    2) There is also an option to get an AM/FM antenna/adapter if you wish to use the device as a radio.
    3) Although you may be able to find a used Bluetooth adaptor for less on Kijiji, you may also wish to list your sounddock for sale, as they seem to be commanding anywhere from $55-$120 plus, depending on the generation of the device.

    Like

  2. PS. Your mention of the Western RCAC Symposium in conjunction with your bag of cables reminded me that WindsorDi had a cable connecter that I needed at one of the Symposia, and that she and I subsequently compared what was in our cable bags at following events. Just because you might not need that adaptor anymore, doesn’t mean other people around you won’t!

    Like

  3. […] Saturday – Common sense comes to the computer industry […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.