doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Memories of so long ago

I had a Facebook memory yesterday that brought back some very fun and vivid memories from 11 years ago. 11 years? It seems like just yesterday.

A number of us were gathered together for an OTF Event in Toronto called “Teaching & Learning in the 21st Century”. The usual suspects were there for this type of event and I had a chance to bring along a teacher-librarian from my school district who really got it and was a leader in our system.

Here’s a picture of Kelly and me along with Peter Skillen and Brenda Sherry.

Thanks, @aforgrave – CC- BY NC SA

My memories of the day was that it a lot of learning about the tools. We did have a couple of creative moments like when creative Colin asked non-creative Doug to take a picture of him taking a picture of me.

As you might expect, it was a time for blogging and I did so here.

Peter Skillen blogged about it at the same time. He had used a utility to capture the Twitter messages from the event and used the words “real nuggets” to describe them. Sadly, the utility that he used is no longer around. But, and this is an important but, there was a backup! We had encouraged people to use the hashtag @otf21c when they were tweeting things out. It was interesting to go back in time and revisit things.

Also of interest is that the registration is still online. Event-Wizard was used for the event and this link will take you to the Agenda and you can explore the rest of information if you’re interested.

I think that it is telling that I don’t actually recall the content that they were tweeting about but I know and value the people doing it. To me, that speaks more about connections than content and that’s what it’s all about.

I also learned that we did a repeat in the summer and Jaclyn noted that I had blogged about it as well. For that event, I had partnered with another amazing Teacher-Librarian from the district, Joanna.

It was an interesting walkback in time and opportunity for reflection for me.



4 responses to “Memories of so long ago”

  1. Doug, thanks for sharing this! What’s really interesting for me is that I remember these photographs despite not being at the event. I’m betting they were tweeted. Has it really been 11 years?! Thanks for taking us back in time.

    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s exactly the same question I asked when it appeared in my memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.