doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


A colourful post

One of my favourite features of a web browser is the ability to customize it. After all, we’re running it on a personal computer; why not personalize it?

Of course, there’s the ability to add extensions or add-ons to the browser but there’s also the ability to change the colours. I’ve always done that; typically right out of a fresh installation, the tabs and other features are white. I like the ability to change the theme and the colour in the process to make it “mine”.

The downside and something to be aware of is that you can end up taking resources away from your computer so judicial use is always suggested. But, when Google actually does it and not just supports it, you have to believe that the feature would be optimized.

Now, I don’t particularly care if there’s a background image in my browser since I seldom look at a new tab screen for long anyway. But, colours? That’s another story.

From the Google Chrome developers comes a collection of colours that you can install and change you look very quickly.

Off I went like a kid in a candy store. There were a couple of green options, but you’ll notice from the highlight that I’ve settle on “Just Black”. My browser now has got a nice look to it and when I hover over a link on a page the destination is easily readable in white on black at the bottom of the screen.

For me, it’s a keeper.

But, hey, you might want to consider a Rose – at least for today.



6 responses to “A colourful post”

  1. Doug, I can’t help but think about some of Stuart Shanker’s Self-Reg work around screentime and dysregulation. Could these coloured screens compound the issue, or would they have no impact? As a teacher, I think about how important it would be for kids to choose adjusting the colour…in case it does dysregulate them. Thoughts?

    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think it that deeply. In my mind, the dark theme makes the open tabs and I have 13 open at this time, make the tab bar visually recede and yet the titles of each stand out should I decide to take a look. It makes the actual content leap from the page and I find I’m less distracted with whatever else happens to be open. And, philosophy aside, it just looks good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Doug!
    Number of posts in my online class that I’ve read this morning – 0.
    Number of colour schemes I’ve tried out on Chrome – 5.
    i thought High Contrast Colourful would make each tab a different colour but it doesn’t. Decided to go with SeaFoam for now. It’s liking a soothing vacation to the beach.

    Now back to my online course.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Valentine’s Day to you, Ramona!

    Like

  5. Lisa, if you buy into Aviva’s self-regulation argument, the High Contrast probably isn’t your choice. Seafoam is a nice, soft on the eyes, choice.

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.