doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending February 10, 2019

Here’s a summary of some of the things I learned and published this week.


Readings 

(You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Here are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week.)

  • I’m starting to see the i9 processor mentioned more and more. Here’s a comparison with the i7.
  • A Superbowl potty story.
  • Things happening at the Freedom Museum during Black History Month.
  • The more we read about the opioid crisis, the more we realize that something serious needs to be done. This story from Brantford.
  • This is probably overdue but let’s hope that Microsoft keeps their iconic blue screen.
  • As mentioned before, the whole concept of crypto-money-things is a fascinating obsession for me. But, what happens when things go wrong?
  • After initially struggling with Inbox, I came to really like it and now Google is pulling the plug. But, after all, it’s just email. Couldn’t we just customize Gmail?
  • Perhaps the second most useful tool on the internet is the Internet Archive. Here’s the genius behind it.
  • Canadians learned and heard so much about the difference between consecutive and concurrent sentences for crimes this week. How does a judge decide?
  • If you wrote your own obituary, would it be as good as this one?
  • I know that stories like this are often clickbait but that doesn’t stop me from reading. After all, there might just be one useful, helpful tidbit in there that I’d hate to miss.
  • I’ve heard both sides of the argument about letting people know about upcoming speed traps. I mean, who hasn’t had oncoming traffic flash their lights to let you know. This time, the flasher is Waze.
  • Don’t we all know how social engineering works? Haven’t we all been tempted to click to find out? If you’re teaching about security in class, and who isn’t?, this is a helpful resource.
  • If you lie awake at night worrying about who at Google is stalking you, you might want to consider one of these alternatives.

Blog Posts on doug … off the record

My daily contributions to this blog.


#FollowFriday

Here’s who I tagged as “Active” last Friday morning.

https://wakelet.com/wake/f3333405-bbec-46d7-850e-22e1453fba39


voicEd Radio

My on demand radio page can be found here.  

Opening song this week:

The latest #TWIOE show features blog posts from:


Technology Troubleshooting 

This is a silly nuance but its appearance is a reminder of how much of a creature of habit I can be.

Right now, I’m using the Opera Browser. Why? It has awesome features and a battery saving mode that makes my MacBook Pro run on and on.

If you look above, you’ll notice that I’ve got a lot of links highlighted and that means a lot of copying/pasting. A true 21st Century skill!

With every other browser on the face of the planet (or at least the ones that I’ve used), I can highlight text by setting the starting point, holding down the left mouse button, and swiping either left or right to highlight. I’ll bet you can too.

For some reason, Opera only lets me highlight when I go from left to right. It’s probably the way most people do things since that’s the way we read text but I find a desire to go either way depending upon where my cursor is. When I try to highlight from right to left, it is highlighted for a second and then goes away.

First world problems.


Video of the Week

For me, there’s always something extra special when a spectacular song is played by the original singer but backed with an orchestra. This is classic Supertramp.


My Favourite Photo of the Week

The world’s most demanding dog lying at the end of the hallway staring at me. He knows that he and his ever shedding fur is not allowed in the room when I’m blogging. He continually refers to this alleged contract with the Humane Society that he says I signed when he was adopted that entitles him to three walks a day.

Thanks for reading.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:
https://dougpete.wordpress.com/

If you find it anywhere else, it’s not original.



Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.