doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


A couple of poor efforts

Every time I think that I’ve “done #FollowFriday” and I’m ready to move on, I get inspiration to not do so.

The past couple of weeks were poor efforts on my part.

First, I was off to San Diego to the CSTA Conference. For a week, I was living on California time so my usual 5am get up was 8am Eastern time.  It’s pretty late to do it, plus I certainly wasn’t up at 5am there.  Thursday night was a great chance to meet up with old friends.  So, I thought – here’s my chance.  Hopefully, nobody will miss me and I can be done this.  As it turns out, I got all these private messages wondering what was happening.  People were missing my Friday morning spam and the chance to make new connections.

Then, there was this Friday.  Like many people, I was up late on Thursday night to hear the speech at the Republican Convention.  I sure wasn’t alone.  I was determined to get back on track – I like the fact that we’re connecting Ontario Educators – and there are some summer courses ongoing and what better way to make new connections.  I didn’t realize it but – I have many politically minded friends!

While the process isn’t fully automated, I do have a routine that “harvests” the most recent Twitter messages from my Ontario Educator Twitter lists.  Normally, that gives me a good sampling of the most recent posters which lends credibility to the adjective “Active”.  What’s the point of acknowledging someone who isn’t active?  The sampling wasn’t as generous as it normally is!  A few of these politicos had “taken over” the stream with their thoughts/observations on Mr. Trump’s speech.  And, I did get engaged with their thoughts in the process.  Republicans should note – Ontario is watching you.

So, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Maybe things well return to normal next week.  Oh yeah, there’s another political convention.

I’ll apologize in advance.



3 responses to “A couple of poor efforts”

  1. I’ve been really bad lately. I didn’t even do my Monday morning links post this week. Too much travel and too much catching up on things left undone while travelling. I haven’t been asked about it though. Not sure if I should be happy or disappointed about that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug, I certainly appreciate your Friday morning #FF posts, and the opportunity to connect with more Ontario educators. Every week, I find someone new to follow. That said, I would also say to “be kind” to yourself (something I’ve learned through the Self-Reg courses I took). We all deserve a break. So if there are some weeks that you don’t do #ff or do it differently, that’s okay, and if at some point you stop doing it, that’s okay too. I would probably say the best question of all is, “Why do you do this and how does it make you feel?” I also think that your weekly blog posts connect educators too. You do a lot to help us find each other. A special “thank you” for that!

    Aviva

    P.S. And in the topic of confessions, I did something different today. I always start my day reading your posts, but I slept in this morning, and in my rush to get moving, I just realized now that I missed this morning’s post. Glad I went back to read it.

    Like

  3. Hi Doug,
    You are one of the most dedicated and consistent people that I know in terms of your sharing and connectedness. I am always in awe of what you accomplish…a little break now and again is a good thing. Suspense is certainly building on the political front with our neighbours to the south…

    Brenda

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.