doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2023-05-14

Happy Mother’s Day


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.


Sunday

  • A great plug for Point Pelee – if you want more reasons, just ask me. We visit there all the time
  • Microsoft is the cool kid? Who ever thought we’d be able to say that?

Monday

  • I’ll echo this – Lubuntu is a terrific OS. I’m not into bells and whistles so it fits the bill and my 13 year old laptop well
  • I wonder how Wikipedia will address this

Tuesday

  • I’m interested in watching this movie – I had a Blackberry and really miss it
  • I can’t believe that this person would think that they could get away with this

Wednesday

  • Since I taught Computer Science, I’m watching these AI activities with great interest
  • You can never have enough end of the year activities

Thursday

  • Does this mean that Toronto Maple Leaf fans will never vacation in Florida again? I doubt it
  • I’m guessing that I can’t do this with my current Android phone but will keep my eyes open if I ever upgrade

Friday

  • Study habits – if I was still in the classroom, my students and I would be talking about this
  • I’ve always tried to keep my computers dry but if you want rain on your Macintosh …

Saturday

  • Got binoculars? Come to Essex County and see the birds
  • Everything you ever wanted to know about Andragogy

Blog Posts from doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – May 12, 2023

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

With the new rules at Twitter, the traditional way of creating Wakelets has gone away. I need to think this through to see if I can continue this feature.


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a blog post/show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers. Stephen Hurley and I use their writing as the basis for a conversation.

  • Sue Bruyns – @sbruyns
  • TESL Ontario – @TESLOntario
  • Laura Wheeler – @wheeler_laura
  • Dave Cormier – @davecormier
  • Doug MacDowall – @dougzone2_1
  • Aviva Dunsiger – @avivaloca

This week’s voicEd Radio show:

Peace playlist

A playlist of the songs of Peace that we open and close the show with. We’ve done this since the situation in Ukraine started and will continue until it’s over.


Technology Troubleshooting

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always created a Wakelet of my FollowFriday Twitter messages.

I went to do that, as per normal, only to find that Wakelet has indicated that the new rules of Twitter have prohibited the collection tool that they created.

I’ve got to think this through and perhaps I’ll have to drop that from this Sunday post.

That would be sad but welcome to 2023.


Video of the Week

The future according to Google.


Photo of the Week

Since it’s Mother’s Day, here’s a photo of my mother. I hope you did something nice for your mother.


Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2023-05-14”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2023-05-14 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  2. […] Sunday – My Week Ending 2023-05-14 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.