doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


A new Twitter in the works?

You can’t get by without reading or seeing reports from Twitter as Elon Musk takes over.

When I first saw the video, I thought that he was bringing his favourite monitor to his new office. Then, I watched the rest of the video and I didn’t get it. But that’s OK; I suspect that there will be a lot of things that I don’t get coming up in the next while.

These days, I’m finding Twitter less and less useful for my purposes. I’m not alone.

Exclusive: Twitter is losing its most active users, internal documents show

I was going to take a guess but Twitter has it on record so I just looked at my join date.

I know exactly where I was when I joined. I was in a workshop led by Will Richardson who was talking about the importance of connections and statements like “together we’re smarter” had me convinced. I bought into the concept and joined immediately. It required a lot of work to make it happen and be of real value but, in the end, it was the best professional learning that I’d ever done for myself.

I haven’t regretted doing so but, like the author above, I’ve noticed that it’s less helpful these days.

Back in the day, we would have

  • hashtags for everything
  • Tweetups at conferences
  • FollowFridays
  • Pictures of food (OK, it wasn’t always professional)
  • Twitter lists and sharing of those lists
  • and probably a lot more if I continue to reminisce

Things are certainly different these days. I still maintain the FollowFriday thing and people seem to appreciate the connections. I think anyway. I still get pumped when it generates a new follower and the first thing I check is whether or not they have a blog and are from Ontario because I love to follow them.

It’s always been worth it to me. I truly do love to read blog posts, particularly about education. I find them to be truer and more authentic that news releases or articles written because some reporter has a deadline to meet. But most of all, I’m impressed when someone’s writing teaches me something new or leads me to find out more about things.

These days, I’m seeing more dead or dying Twitter accounts and abandoned Blogs than ever.

I don’t think that it’s necessarily that people have abandoned platforms but I get the sense that people are more scrollers on social media than in the past. In the past, there was value and worth by creating something or being supportive by sharing the works of someone else. It was a Personal Learning Network at its best.

Now, my timelines seems to be full of Wordle results or memes retweeted from somewhere else.

Musk claims that he wants to take us back to the concept of the town square where people gather to chat. Earlier in the summer, we walked the “Square” in Goderich (it really isn’t a square) on a Saturday and Sunday morning when the markets were set up. People had their own tables and were so welcoming to talk about what they were selling and some even recommended a fellow vendor when we asked for something they didn’t have. It was exhilarating to take do it.

There really was a sense of wanting to help each other out. It reminds me of the good old days of Twitter.

Can Musk take us back to that?



5 responses to “A new Twitter in the works?”

  1. Alfred Thompson Avatar
    Alfred Thompson

    I know one person who is planning on deleting their Twitter account. I hear talk of many more doing so. I don’t see the hurry. Like you I have been on Twitter a while (joined a couple of months after you) and have gotten a lot out of it over the years. I am still seeing value. The #CSk8 Twitter chat is frequently informative. I also see lots of announcements of things that interest me on it. And I connect with a couple of people who have left Facebook but are still on Twitter.

    I think a lot depends on who you follow. I don’t follow much in the way of celebrities or media people. Just friends and CS educators and a few other interesting people. So I tend not to see the hate speech, the politics, and the other things that make Twitter unfriendly for many.

    Like

    1. Good points, Alfred. As my former superintendent used to say “Choose your friends wisely”. I do like to think that I do that. And, I just don’t interact with the others.

      Like

  2. Doug, Twitter is definitely different now than it was in the past, and I agree to using it differently too. That said, in my new position, I’m starting to connect again with educators here as I might have back in the earlier days. I like the connections, even if they might be different than before. My Wordle tweets also generate some different kinds of connections and I like those too. So I’m not looking to leave Twitter yet. We’ll see how this all plays out.

    Aviva

    Like

  3. […] A new Twitter in the works? – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  4. […] Saturday – A new Twitter in the works? […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.