doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


My Week Ending 2023-04-09

It will be a smaller grouping this afternoon for Easter. We had our Easter turkey on Friday and when this post goes live, the house will be filled with the smell of blackened chicken.


Readings 

You can follow my daily readings as they happen here.  Below are a selected few, with commentary, from the past week. They’re posted to the blog daily under the title OTR Links.


Sunday

  • Use these phrases more often. Even if you don’t have a high emotional intelligence, they are just good for everyone
  • I have never heard Pythagoras described as a cult before so of course I had to read this

Monday

  • It’s time to start thinking about summer and beaches – here are some suggested places to go
  • Do you remember what Google was called before it was called Google?

Tuesday

  • I grew up kind of near Listowel so I don’t feel badly about acknowledging a “local” boy
  • Smartphone apps for university / college students – interesting

Wednesday

  • This is a sad story – I had many a meeting at that Curling Club
  • I guess it’s true then. Kids are maturing quicker than ever

Thursday

  • This isn’t exactly a commentary on the speedy service at Tim Hortons
  • AI and poetry? Can it stop at anything?

Friday

  • It seems it sometimes but I guess it’s true – Canada’s population really grew in 2020
  • I’m not a fan of all the crap on YouTube but YouTube Music is that – just music – a Spotify competitor

Saturday

  • I’m glad that I got our taxes in early and we have already got our refunds but don’t delay
  • Video editing is indeed possible on Chromebooks

Blog Posts from doug — off the record

My daily contributions to this blog are linked below. If you’re looking for a week in review for doug–off the record, you came to the right place.


#FollowFriday – April 7, 2023

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

https://wakelet.com/wake/msrVOOLy9mu8HG641Q4ze


voicEd Radio

This Week in Ontario Edublogs is a blog post/show/podcast that features great writing from Ontario Edubloggers. Stephen Hurley and I use their writing as the basis for a conversation.


Featured Bloggers:

  • Lisa Corbett – @LisaCorbett0261
  • Melanie White – @WhiteRoomRadio
  • Amanda Potts – @Ahpotts
  • Diana Maliszewski – @mzmollytl
  • Jim Cash – @cashjim
  • Peter Beens – @pbeens
  • David Garlick – @garlickd13

This week’s voicEd Radio show:

Peace playlist

A playlist of the songs of Peace that we open and close the show with. We’ve done this since the situation in Ukraine started and will continue until it’s over.


Technology Troubleshooting

When it doesn’t work, turn it off and then turn it on again.

It’s great advice that I’ve given to many people over the years.

Recently all the computers in our house worked well except for the Chromebooks. They were getting throughput of less than 1MB. I tried everything I could think of with no success.

I finally gave in and went across the room and rebooted the connection and the router.

You know what happened.


Video of the Week

Just a little local promotion from that city north of us.


Photo of the Week

Not a drop of turkey drippings was wasted around here.



Thanks for reading.

Please join me daily for something new and, hopefully, interesting for you. I honestly and truthfully appreciate your few moments reading my thoughts. Time willing, this summary appears every Sunday afternoon.

Be safe.

dp

This blog post was originally posted at:

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/



2 responses to “My Week Ending 2023-04-09”

  1. […] My Week Ending 2023-04-09 – doug — off the record […]

    Like

  2. […] Sunday – My Week Ending 2023-04-09 […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.