doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Whatever happened to …

… pay telephones?

It’s been kind of a Sheila Stewart week around here. I used her post Wednesday morning on This Week in Ontario Edublogs which meant it was added to Friday’s blog post, and I’m back with some inspiration from her for this morning. Any more and I’ll have to add her to the payroll.

A while back she sent me this story from Thunder Bay.

Tbaytel to decommission remaining public payphones

So, what has happened to them?

My first girlfriend was a long-distance call away. That’s how we measured distance then. Seaforth was a local call but Goderich was long distance. Anything on the other side of Seaforth was long distance. There didn’t seem to be a rhyme or reason. There was a section in the phone book that told you where you could call locally. It wasn’t up for discussion.

I was allowed one short telephone call to her a week. Usually, it was no problem but periodically Mom and Dad would be out of the house and so my brother used it as an opportunity to sit in the kitchen and try to listen to me on the phone. Of course, that was bothersome and so I’d load up with some change and take off downtown to the one public payphone. You have to realize how important this was; I had to physically pay as opposed to the family phone where it magically went away.

Thanks to Google Streetview, it’s still there. (as of 2013)

We’re debating here whether it’s still there or not. That’s something to check out next time we make a visit.

There were a couple of payphones at the high school as well but who goes back to school in the evening? There was one at the pool hall but too many ears.

We had a discussion as I thought about this and we honestly couldn’t come up with the location of a public payphone in our town these days. Of course, most people carry smartphones and so they probably haven’t thought about going to a payphone in years. I know that I haven’t.

There always seemed to be a couple in every secondary school I could think of and I know that some administrators claimed or threatened to have them turned off when classes were in session.

Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

Public payphones tried to keep up with technology; you may recall that you could make a phone call and charge it to your credit card. Even that couldn’t keep the technology reaper away though.

I guess we’ve just moved on. Thank you, technology.

For a Sunday, your thoughts…

  • do you have a public telephone in your community?
  • when was the last time you used a public telephone?
  • do/did public payphones accept incoming calls?
  • in addition to the public payphone going away, I can think of a number of jobs that would have gone away with them. Can you?
  • when you walked by a public payphone, did you ever check the change return to see if someone left a quarter and you became the owner of it?
  • have you ever gone to a different town and stopped to use the phonebook in a public payphone as a way to get directions?
  • why do public payphones seem to be prone to damage by vandals? They seemed to be popular targets for spray paint and physical destruction. They have an interesting spin on “phone off the hook”.
  • is long distance even a thing these days? I know that I can call all over North America with no extra charges on my smartphone

As always, I hope that this inspires you to leave a comment. Please do so.

This is a regular Sunday post around here.

You can read all the past posts here.



6 responses to “Whatever happened to …”

  1. The question I related to the most was the one about checking the change return. As a kid who pretty much never had any change in his pocket, this was a daily ritual on the walk home from school. A local plaza had a pay phone and if it was a lucky day, I’d be spending that quarter in the convenience store sixteen seconds later. One time I found someone’s forgotten change purse sitting atop the pay phone and it was loaded with quarters. (Maybe someone who wanted privacy while he called his long-distance girlfriend?) I suspect it was a couple of dollars in quarters but it was like finding lost treasure. My conscience told me to leave the tiny purse and a few coins behind but I helped myself to the rest and loaded up on sweet and salty snacks with my friend. In hindsight, not the most honest choice but being that I rarely had money as a kid, my conscience wasn’t that rattled.

    Nowadays, when I read a “dated” novel to my students I sometimes have to build the context around the concept. One book I read to my class every year makes reference to the Yellow Pages, so that always makes for an interesting discussion. Some have heard of it, others not.

    As a kid, when my grandparents (from Essex) would visit the family home in Brampton, they would call my great uncle who lived in Oakville using their long-distance calling card so the charge wouldn’t be billed to my parents’ phone. That would be another interesting question: Does anyone still use a long-distance calling card?

    In 2009 I used pay phones twice to call home while I was traveling in Europe; once in Edinburgh and again in London. Cell phone technology wasn’t international yet, or if it was, it wasn’t remotely within my budget. Those long distance cards advertised a large number of calling minutes but the evaporated quickly. You thought you’d have 200 minutes but somehow the call would end within five. Quite the scam if you ask me. You may remember this time, Doug, because it was a conversation with you on the chat feature of First Class (I was in Inverness, Scotland at the time) that eventually steered me toward using my laptop to contact home free of charge. It started with First Class, then I moved over to a gaming communication platform called Ventrilo so I could actually hear my wife’s voice. Fast-forward to last summer, I was video chatting on a cell phone with my wife and son; I was in Belgium and they were in Halifax. Look how far we’ve come? So who needs pay phones now?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great reflections, Les. I know your passion for the World Wars and I really enjoy your pictures and thoughts from your visits. Have you ever considered consolidating them all into a blog? You’ve got a great history of these things.

    I’m glad to read that I wasn’t the only one to check the change return.

    Like

  3. Thank you for your interest in T Bay news, Doug! 😀 I can’t recall the last time I used a pay phone. I do have this reoccurring dream that while I am out somewhere, my cell won’t work to “dial” a call and I go looking for a public phone…. more like a nightmare! I doubt I will ever forget those dirty and torn pages in the phone books… when there was one still attached!
    I am thinking about all the phone booth scenes in movies now… not just Superman!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I appreciated you sharing the Thunder Bay story with me, Sheila, and it got me thinking. That’s always fun. Just yesterday, we were at a marina where there was no cell signal. Without a public phone, we had no way to make that emergency call.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] Whatever happened to … – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.