doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Whatever happened to …

… gift registries?

Later this afternoon, my wife and I will be attending an outdoor wedding. Given the cool breezes and winds lately, we were starting to worry. But, it looks like it will be 19 degrees at some point.

When you attend, of course, you’ll bring a gift for the bride and groom. Around here, the trend seems to be to just drop off money or a gift card and let them buy something that they really want/need.

I know that if I walk through our house, I can spot a few things that we asked for when we got married and put on a gift registry. I smile when I think of the good dish set that we absolutely had to have. I can still recall the manufacturer without going out and looking; it was Noritake. The set is above the fridge in a cupboard, collecting dust. At the time, it was to die for apparently. Quite honestly, the only piece that I can think of that we use at all anymore is the gravy boat. The kids have said that these will be the first to go when they clean out the house. <sob> There was another fond-ish memory that came back of our wedding; in a small community, the reception was often the biggest event on a Saturday night and so it wasn’t unusual to get dressed up and drop in on a reception even if not invited. It was just what you did. There was a bowl at the door so that you could drop in a few bucks for the privilege of attending.

My Mom took great pride in her gift-giving and it’s one of the things that she’s passed on to my wife. Mom said that she always appreciated that people would do research on the couple being married and gift something appropriate. We did that for yesterday’s wedding. I can post it now since this post won’t go live until tomorrow morning so I’m not spoiling the surprise. We gave the gift to the groom’s mother a couple of days ago because it was heavy and potentially breakable and I had a sense of relief when I put it in her trunk and it was out of my hands.

The gift?

There is an artisan in Essex who does incredible work and we’ve commissioned a number of things through her. For today, we know that the two of them each have a dog that is all their world and will somehow be worked into the ceremony. (stay tuned; there may be pictures) We obtained a picture of them and went to our artisan and this is the result.

It’s about 3cm thick and pretty heavy. It can reside in a garden or mounted in various places

As I mentioned, we have had a number of these made over the years. We had one made for my parents whose love was visiting beaches, lighthouses, and feeding seagulls – a love that we’ve continued – and this was the result. When we cleaned out their house, we took this off the front outside wall and it’s now on ours. So, if you’re driving down the third, you can spot our place easily.

We like to think of the gift as a one-of-a-kind that will never be replicated. We hope they like it.

For a Sunday, your thoughts ….

  • do you have a gift – wedding or other – that has stood the test of time?
  • do you buy gifts from a gift registry or do you prefer to do your own research?
  • do you give money instead of a gift?
  • what’s the most unique gift that you’ve ever given someone?
  • what’s the most unique gift that you’ve ever received?
  • should wedding gifts be laid out so that everyone can see them or are they private gifts not to be shared?
  • have you ever wedding-bombed someone’s wedding as a night out or was this just a Huron County thing?

As usual, please share your thoughts in the comments below.

This is a regular Sunday morning post around here. You can check out all the previous ones here.



6 responses to “Whatever happened to …”

  1. Ok, so this is a wonderful invitation to remember!

    I haven’t been married too long, but I do recall the night that we went to The Bay to set up our gift registry. I was coming from several years of home ownership but Zoe was kind of coming from living with her parents. So we weren’t really setting up a house from scratch. I had stuff already. Zoe, not as much.

    But, for me, the real draw of that evening at The Bay was the ability to just use a hand-held device to wander around the store and electronically add things to the registry. This was the early 2000’s, so “smart technologies” were just starting to emerge in people’s minds.

    In setting up the registry, we tried to add a couple of bigger ticket items on which some of the relatives could collaborate. For me, the most desirable gift was the stand mixer. It was the kitchen appliance that I really wanted but probably couldn’t afford to buy on my own. And it’s the appliance that still gets used to this day.

    But, in terms of registries, I also remember sitting down and writing a letter the folks at the Home Depot. At that time, they didn’t have a registry option but, having owned a few older houses by that point in my life, I recognized the need for tools and gadgets that would help me become a better do-it-yourselfer. I’m not sure whether you can set up a registry at a hardware store now but I will tell you that, to this very day, I have a good set of china, some great kitchen gadgets that have stood the test of time, a couple of fondue sets that have never been used. All of this was due to the registry at The Bay.

    But, to this very day, every time I need to do something around the house, I have to go out and buy the tool. I have no decent screwdriver set, no power drill and a very poor hammer.

    I can cook up a storm and serve a Sunday dinner on great dishes, but I still have to call my father-in-law if I want to borrow a coping saw!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s nice to have the utility to call that father-in-law. As a person who has dined at the Hurley Household, I can understand you gathering all the cooking tools you can.

    Like

  3. Looks like you had a nice day for the wedding. It’s exciting to give a personal gift like that! How was the wedding playlist? 🙂

    Our daughter created a wedding website from an online template and it also had a registry page that linked to different stores and the selected items and it would update what had been purchased already. Plenty of guests used it since many were from out of town. I prefer to do a combo of a gift and money for weddings. I just feel that some kind of personal or useful gift is important to include.

    My husband and I didn’t use a registry. Our mothers kept good lists and coordinated all that haha. Remember when you HAD to pick out your china. That is also a thing of the past.. a good thing? We are finally using our good china set more! And we still like the pattern!

    I often come across items that I note/smile to myself that we have had since we got them as wedding gifts! One day I might take a few pictures of these memorable, “stood the test of time” (but maybe not the trend) items just for fun! I will let you know if I determine the most unique one! 🙂

    I have only gone to weddings that I have had formal invites too. I remember learning that anyone could attend the ceremony if it was at a church, but I never did that.

    I think it should be up to the couple regarding who they show/display their gifts to. Although it is part of the fun at a wedding shower to show off the gifts.

    Can you tell we recently had a wedding in the family? Still resting up from it… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Sunday – Whatever happened to … ? […]

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing, Sheila. It really is a unique experience. I’m glad we’re not the only one with original dishes.

    Like

  6. […] Whatever happened to … – doug — off the record […]

    Like

Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.