Breaking out

It was last year at the Bring IT, Together that I met Larissa Aradj and Sandra Chow.  I was working doing something and Larissa came up and introduced the two of them.  I find it always nice to put a real human to the Twitter handles – in this case @MrsGeekChic and @watnunu.

As luck would have it, this year the two of them joined me again at a table at this year’s conference.  I knew that Larissa with was presenting alongside Arianna Lambert because I had every intention of attending.  As it turns out, I had a tonne of other things that needed addressing so actually felt a bit badly that we were sitting here talking; I’d stood her up!  But, I got a quicky summary of her session.

Back home now, I decided to take a look at her presentation that she was kind enough to have shared online.

Digital Breakouts

Screen Shot 2017-11-13 at 3.14.16 PM

Over the past couple of years, I’d had every intention to attend one of these Breakout games just to experience it.  The premise is simple enough.  Larissa’s was online done in a Google Sites document, which she embedded into this presentation.  I worked my way through the slides until I got to her Breakout.  Then, I spent some time solving it.

I truly know that I was missing something.  While there’s something comfortable about solving this while sitting in a comfy chair with half an eye on the Vikings’ football game, I can absolutely see the excitement and promise for use with students.

The answers were collected via a Google Form.  It used a feature that I’d never used before – Response Validation.

Screen Shot 2017-11-13 at 3.20.06 PM

Fortunately, Larissa had included instructions about how to use that feature in her presentation.  It was so easy and comes across as professional and certainly functional.

Who could ask for more?  Learn a new pedagogy tool and a new technology tip.  I’m happy.

She blogged about the whole process here.

Thanks, Larissa, and best wishes.

Now, if you’re using OneNote and want to create a Breakout activity in there, don’t forget that Cal Armstrong had created a blog post showing how here.

My only regret was not meeting Larissa’s co-presenter Arianna Lambert.   Maybe next year.

She had included a Digital Breakout using Google Slides for Canada 150.  There’s one that you can use immediately.

Screenshot at 2017-11-14 06-53-54

Leave a Reply

