Whatever happened to …


… ENOREO?

(Educational Network of Ontario/Réseau éducatif de l’Ontario)

I had two forays into the internet originally.  I had a Compuserve account which came with an email address.  The problem with this was that it was some numbered account.  I can’t even remember it now.  But imagine giving out your email address like this:

Hi, I’m Doug.  You can contact me at 12345678@compuserve.com.

Well, actually if it was that simple, perhaps.

Around the same time, Ontario educators had the opportunity to become a member of ENOREO.  It was free and gave unfettered access to the internet.  The only fetter was that you had to be able to dial into the service to get connected.  If memory serves me correctly, our access locally was through the Windsor Board of Education’s IT Department which was allocated eight dial-in lines to get connected.

It was exciting to dial in and get “on-line”.  I had run a BBS for a number of years for fun, enjoyment, and the opportunity for students to upload assignments and converse with me and other students after hours so the concept wasn’t entirely new.  The connections through ENOREO were different through.

Through a text-based interface, you could connect with other Ontario Educators and discuss the educational issues of the day, 24 hours a day.  It really seemed like magic.  It also enabled classrooms to get connected with other classrooms world-wide for projects.  One that comes to mind was the Flat Stanley Project.  We all admire project ideas that have longevity; it’s awesome that Flat Stanley exits today.  You can get involved at the link above.

I do think that the whole concept of getting connected with other educators greatly influenced my subsequent use of Social Media for education.

ENOREO died for a couple of reasons, it seems to me.  First, eight phone lines for dialing in was a real challenge and “give up-able” after a while.  Getting your email seemed so important so I did keep trying…and trying…and trying…and trying.  The other thing was that access to the internet became increasingly more important and, with the advent of modern web browsers, so much more exciting than text.  So much for getting online just for the content!

ENOREO did make an impact on how teachers in Ontario connected.  It’s interesting to see how many resources still link to the original domain!  Who doesn’t enjoy a broken link?

Memories of this came back this week as I reflected earlier about my username for most social media things.  “dougpete” was assigned to me via ENOREO who created your account and let you know username and password. There was no room for creativity.  The original domain enoreo.on.ca has long gone but is not forgotten here.

For a Sunday, how about your thoughts?

  • were you ever a member of ENOREO?
  • if you were, what did you use it for?
  • if you were not, what was your first connection to the internet?
  • can you remember your original username?
  • have you ever belonged to a service that uses a traditional modem and a phone line to connect to a service?  If so, what was the highest baud rate you remember?
  • how did you pronounce it?  I can recall two different ways.
    • EEE NO REE OH
    • eh NOR EEE OH

Do you have an idea or thought that would be appropriate for my “Whatever happened to … ” series of blog posts?

Please visit this Padlet and add your idea.  I’d love for it to be an inspiration for a post!

OTR Links 08/20/2017


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.