Every summer at this time …

… I, and probably you, get a number of new followers.

So many of these come from people taking courses over the summer and listening to the message that you “need to be on Twitter” and become a connected educator.  It’s great advice and I’d second that thought from anyone.

And yet, I can’t help but think that the complete message hasn’t been given at times.

Why?  Because some many of these new followers have the dreaded Twitter Egg as their profile picture.  How many posts have been devoted to “Break out of your shell?”

Again, good advice.

Now, when I get a new follower, I always check them out.  I really do.

Here’s what I look for.

  • Things you’re tweeting.  I’m always on the lookout for what I call “Interesting People”.  After all, in my mind, that’s why we’re all doing this.  So, please, please, please, don’t protect your Twitter messages.

And, for your daily trivia, check out:

What is the meaning of the color of Twitter’s egg avatars?

Leave a Reply

