Maybe this will help

Do you ever walk into a room and then forget why you went there?  It happens all the time here!

Even worse is the digital equivalent.  As I read or work on something on my computer, I’ll use it as a launchpad to do something else.  If it’s a link, I’ll right-click a link and open a tab to remind me and, hopefully, get around to it later.

Sometimes, though, that isn’t sufficient.  So, I’ll use a Keep or OneNote document to keep track of things.  I just have to remember to visit them to do whatever it was that I was supposed to do.

Yesterday, I think I may have found a better solution.

It’s called the Papier extension.

It’s the ultimate in minimalism but fancy formatting and every feature under the sun isn’t what I need.  I just need a place to make a quick note so that I don’t forget.  Papier might be the answer.

It replaces the New Tab feature in the Chrome browser.  Now when I open a new tab, I just get a wide open whitespace to do some typing.  (Or blackspace if I turn on Night Mode)

Then, I make my note.

There are a few features available via menu or shortcut.

Screenshot 2017-07-26 at 06.33.06

Essentially, you just open the tab and start typing.  It remembers the content every time you open the tab.  The nice thing is that it’s all kept in the browser and you don’t have to leave to go anywhere else to use it.

I’m going to give it a try and see if it helps my memory.

I just hope that I remember to click on post to share this.

 

2 Replies to “Maybe this will help”

  1. You know, I hadn’t even thought about this problem being the same as walking down the basement to get something and then forgetting what that something was. I often use digital stickies, including one that says “attention to intention – what was your goal when you sat down”. I have been known to go to my computer to do one thing, and come out of the rabbit hole quite a while later without doing that one thing. In fact, I’m doing that right now! yikes! Let me know how things go with Papier – I may have to try it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

