Response to Spammers

I realized that I’ve been missing acknowledgement to an element of the blogging experience – spammers!  I take a look at some of the comments that Akismet blocks from public view every now and again and they always generate a smile.

Sometimes, it’s just too good to not share.  Of course, a good spammer will include a link to some site that will do things like add to an advertisement counter or give you a dose of malware or something.  I’d never knowingly repeat those links or include them here but some of the comments intended to entice people to click through are priceless.

It does beg the question – does it actually work and get some people to fall for it?

They do detract from the wonderful people who do give some good feedback on posts.

Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 19.53.41

Here are some of the latest of the most recent 514 that have been caught …


Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 19.57.50

Somehow, this is refreshing news for this blogger …


Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 19.57.23

I hate when that happens.


Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 19.56.27

I have this uncanny feeling that you’re just here to cause trouble.


Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 19.55.56

There are no discussion boards that go to the depths and the level of research that is done here.  Plus, the quality of the legitimate comments is second to none.  Don’t waste your time.  There’s only one doug — off the record.


Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 19.56.56

You obviously don’t know me.  My curling iron days are long behind me!

Even curling it with a straightener won’t work.  Does that even make sense?


and the list goes on and on.

I can’t imagine the work involved if I had to filter this stuff out manually.

Blech!

One Reply to “Response to Spammers”

  1. I sometimes wonder about the people doing the spamming. DO they know they are annoying? Do they care? How do they feel about getting spammed themselves? I’ll probably never know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

